I Throw Like a Girl

Geography 101

Posted by Carol on September 19, 2008

My friend and I went to a Thai restaurant for lunch today.  It was only the second time in my life that I had eaten Thai food and I loved it. 

As we were standing at the counter paying (the waiter forgot to come pick up the check), here is what I was thinking to myself:

Hmmm….isn’t Taiwan part of China?  So wouldn’t Thai food really be a kind of Chinese food?  I wonder why we don’t just call it ‘Chinese’ instead. 

I think it would be news to the people in Thailand that they are now part of China.

As Abraham Lincoln once said, it is better to keep quiet and have people think you’re a fool than to open your mouth and prove them right.

 

One Response to “Geography 101”

  1. Beverlydru said

    I love that quote. I watched a really embarrassing video on a blog of a sister from Singapore. The Americans interviewed couldn’t even name a country that begins with U, couldn’t name the religion of Israel or even of Buddhist monks. They probably would have thought Abaraham Lincoln was the name of the guy who invented Lincoln Town Cars too.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
