I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW ~ Tangle Free Necklaces

Posted by Carol on September 24, 2008

My 16 year old daughter loves to be my personal stylist and I’m ok with that because she does not try to dress me up as a teeny bopper.  Just today she helped me accessorize my outfit for work with a pair of cool (but age appropriate) dangly earrings and a bangle bracelet. I hardly ever wear bangle bracelets.

The truth is that other than my wedding ring, a watch, dangly earrings (always dangly or what’s the point really?), and maybe a dainty necklace, I rarely wear much jewelry.  To me, pins or brooches are a waste of time and I can’t stand the feeling of heavy or chunky necklaces or bracelets.

The problem with my philosophy of jewelry is that packing light, delicate necklaces for travel is a nightmare.  I open my bag to find a tangled, frustrating mess.  I suffered in silence for years until my much more organized younger sister filled me in on a secret. 

Use a straw.

That’s it.  Take a straw and thread one end of your necklace through it and fasten the clasp.  If your necklace is long use two straws (or one and a half).  If it’s a bracelet you need to pack, cut a straw in half.

Problem solved. Thanks, Sis.

For more great ideas, check out Shannon’s blog where she’s hosting Works for Me Wednesday.

Bon Voyage,

 

 

8 Responses to “WFMW ~ Tangle Free Necklaces”

  1. My 13 yr old is totally my fashion consultant too. She even helped me pick out a flattering swimsuit. That’s hard to do!

    Confessions of an Apron Queen

  2. You know I think I saw something like your straw idea for sale at an organizational store. Thanks for saving me 9.95!

  3. Sherry said

    Cool idea!i would never have thought about that. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Jerri said

    Wow, what a super idea! I love it. I almost want to go somewhere just to try it 🙂

  5. Linda said

    That is pure GENIUS!

  6. What a great idea! Thanks – I’m definitely going to use this!

  7. stefanie said

    Hi, I found you through the comments on Anne Jackson’s blog. I came because I LOVED the name of your blog. I, too, throw like a girl. If I throw at all.

    So I’m thinking, this is a beautiful blog, and it looks like she has a teenager (I have 2 teenage girls, so I am always looking for ‘mom of teenager’ blogs.

    I think, “I’ll stay a while.”

    I read your 911 post and learned you are in NJ. It never occurred to me that people in the airport in Newark could have seen the whole thing. How horrible that must have been.

    I decide we ought to be friends because I live in PA. We’re next door neighbors.

    I looked at your pictures of Costa Rica because we just celebrated our 20th anniversary, and we want to go to Costa Rica sometime to finish our celebration. I want to go on a canopy tour, and see the beach and the mountains…so thanks for taking me there (sort of) this morning.

    Well, I am continuing to explore and have a great time and I decide to check your blogroll.

    We read a lot of the same blogs. I decide to subscribe and lurk for a while. That’s what I do. I lurk until I decide it’s safe. I’m shy.

    Then I see your link for TBG. Sylane is my friend! We go to the same church and I used to go to her Bible Study before I had to go back to work during the day. I think I ought to get me one of those links for my sidebar too.

    At this point, I figure Sylane introduced us. So now we are friends and I don’t have to lurk!

  8. Diane said

    Do you have any idea how many hours I have spent untangling my loverly, delicate silver Ann Taylor snowflake necklace?
    Year after year, it is like a time consuming tradition at my house. “Time to untangle the snowflake necklace!” One year, I actually sent it home with my SIL for her kids to work on.
    And you are telling me a simple straw can save me from this torture?

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
