I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Monkey Bread

Posted by Carol on September 27, 2008

When my husband and I were first married, we drove our Mazda 626 loaded with all our earthly possessions to a small town in Illinois where hubby was to begin his ministry at a church as youth pastor. Now that I am the mother of two teenagers, I just want to say one thing to all those parents. 

I’m sorry.

At 22 years old, I had no clue.  Some days, I still feel like I haven’t got a clue. There, I feel better now.

But what does that have to do with Monkey Bread?  I have a point, I promise.

The senior pastor and his wife were very gracious and invited us to spend the first night at their home because we didn’t even have a bed to sleep in yet at our new place.  The next morning, we woke up ready to take on the the job of unpacking. When we came downstairs to breakfast, the pastor’s wife had made this recipe for us for breakfast. 

We are no longer in youth ministry, but we do still make this recipe for the youth that live at our house, and they love it!

Monkey Bread

  • 4 rolls Pillsbury biscuits cut into fours
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tbs cinnamon
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/2 pound brown sugar

Cut the Pillsbury biscuits into four pieces each.

Combine the cinnamon and sugar and roll each piece of dough to completely coat.

Place cinnamon-sugar coated pieces evenly in bundt pan.

Melt the stick of butter and mix with the brown sugar.  Add a little bit of water if needed to  make it the consistency of syrup.

Pour the butter and brown sugar mixture evenly over the cinnamon-sugar coated pieces of dough in the bundt pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until the pieces you see on top are very golden brown.  When I make monkey bread, the top pieces need to look almost over done so that the pieces in the middle are cooked all the way.  This is probably because I use a stone bundt pan.  A metal one may not need as much time, but you don’t want the middle pieces to still be doughy.

I don’t have a picture of the finished product because my not so little monkeys ate it all too fast. 

Ok, I have to admit that I was probably a little too busy stuffing my face to remember to take a picture of it, too.

Please click on Mr. Linky below to add your recipe.  Be sure to link directly to your recipe post, not your home page so that folks can find your recipe easily.  Also, please link back here so your readers can find other new recipes to try.  Feel free to post a recipe in the comments section if you don’t have a blog.

 

Have fun and play nice!

5 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Monkey Bread”

  1. Farrah said

    Surprise!! 🙂 Your Monkey Bread looks yummy!

  2. Mel said

    I linked up for my first Saturday stirrings!! Hope you have a great day!

  3. Pam M. said

    I just love monkey bread. My son loves to make this. Good stuff for breakfast, but also wonderful after dinner on cool/cold nights with some coffee or tea. Hits the spot.

    Thanks for posting this, Carol!

    Pam

  4. Diane said

    Gosh that makes me hungry. My mouth is watering and I am supposed to be leaving for a run right now.
    Thanks so much. 🙂
    Oh, now my stomach is growling. That is just great.

  5. I was just thinking the other day, “I have never made monkey bread.” I think we have ESPN, you and me.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
