I Throw Like a Girl

Worship Song Sunday ~ Slow Fade by Casting Crowns from the movie Fireproof

Posted by Carol on September 28, 2008

Hubby owes me big time.  He just got back last Monday from a 5 day mountain biking trip and he is leaving again to go hunting for elk back out west. 

When I picked him up from the airport late Monday night, he said these words – which I promptly carved in stone – I’m not going to go biking next weekend. Let’s do something together on Saturday.  I told him I planned on holding him to it.

God smiled on me by sending rain – just enough to take away any temptation Dear Hubby might have to actually try to sneak a ride in.  Let me just say now, that I honestly do not mind Hubby’s biking.  He works very hard all week long and he enjoys biking immensely. He has invited me to join him on many occasions.  It just feels like sometimes our queen size bed is too small for all three of us.

When Hubby asked me what I wanted to do, I told him I had the perfect plan for a rainy day – dinner and a movie.  We went to see Fireproof.

It is a sad fact that statistics tell us that 50% of marriages will end in divorce and the statistics are no different for Christian marriages.  I have been involved in women’s ministry long enough to know that of the 50% that do stay married, many of those marriages are not happy, fulfilling or anything close to what God intended marriage to be.  I don’t write this in judgement.  I write this as someone who has been married for 22 years and but for the grace of God our marriage would have been one in the failed category.  We are still a work in progress.

I would recommend Fireproof to anyone who is married – happily or otherwise.  There is also a website with excellent marriage resources to use if something in the movie moves you to work on your own marriage or help others with theirs.  It is www.fireproofmymarriage.com

For Worship Song Sunday, this week I am featuring Slow Fade by Casting Crowns from the movie Fireproof.

5 Responses to “Worship Song Sunday ~ Slow Fade by Casting Crowns from the movie Fireproof”

  1. Alisha said

    I saw that movie too! It was awesome! What a great encouragement to marriages everywhere!

  2. Pam M. said

    Carol,

    I felt like I was hit with a bullet and all the life just drained out of me the first time I heard this song. Whenever it comes on the radio, I change the station, because I can’t listen to it. It makes me sick and makes me cry, because unfortunately, it hits WAY too close to home. Of course today, Pandora just HAD to open the box to view the video. I was amazed at how powerful this was, especially how they made everything go in reverse. And that little girl with the very hauntingly sad eyes. Yeah, I cried some more.

    But thank you, Carol, for posting all of this today. It’s a much needed warning and a reminder of just how fragile marriage and family can be……so handle with care.

  3. Diane said

    I want to see it so bad. Can’t wait. Pam. I hope you are doing well and are encouraged today.
    Hugs to you.

  4. Merrie. said

    Powerful! We are planning to see it this week. Thanks for sharing. We have a great marriage now, didn’t always. God’s faithfulness and healing reign supreme! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Corie said

    I want to see the movie so badly. I hope we can get to the theaters before it is gone…..

    And, Casting Crowns are so good. They sang this song at a concert I saw last November. Their lyrics do hit home….

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
