I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Pumpkin Roll

Posted by Carol on October 11, 2008

Last week I posted a recipe for pumpkin spice cupcakes.  One of my very smart commenters mentioned that perhaps it could be used for making pumpkin roll.  Maybe it could, but I thought I’d post the original recipe for Pumpkin Roll and then all you wild and crazy kids out there can do what you will with it!

Pumpkin Roll

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup solid pack pumpkin
  • 3/4/ cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

Filling

  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 tablespoon butter
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

Mix first seven ingredients together and spread in a waxed paper lined cookie sheet (14×10).  Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. Generously sprinkle powdered sugar on a kitchen towel, flip cake onto towel and remove waxed paper immediately.  Roll cake up in towel until completely cool. 

While the cake is cooling use an electric mixer to blend the filling ingredients together. Unroll cake, spread with filling, roll back up, wrap in foil and freeze.  Defrost before serving. Cut into 1 inch thick slices and enjoy!

To add your recipe, click on Mr. Linky below. Please link directly to your recipe and not your home page, and please be sure to link back here so your readers can find more new recipes to try. If you don’t have a blog, feel free to post a recipe in the comments.

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Pumpkin Roll”

  1. Greg said

    Seems we are both on a sugar kick this week! I LOVE pumpkin rolls. In fact, I’m kinda obsessed with them. Lol! But I am extremely blessed to have a sister-in-law who makes them every year and gives them out as gifts to us privileged few who are closely related. It’s totally awesome! But now that I have the recipe, I just might make one myself in the off season. You know? 🙂

  2. Farrah said

    Wait a minute. Why does it say Greg? That’s my husband. Oops! He must have used this computer recently. Lol! I’ll switch it back to me.

  3. Farrah said

    Oops! Thanks for letting me know! I added the correct one, but I’m not sure how to delete the first one.

  4. Okay, I had one of these rolls at my son’s wife’s sisters house, lol. It was delicious, I should try to bake such a great thing as this someday. 🙂

    I am off to see Greg’s blog! Wow, Farrah’s better half…. baking? I need to take a peek at this man!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
