I Throw Like a Girl

Works for me Wednesday ~ Decorate for Christmas Now

Posted by Carol on October 15, 2008

There are a couple of things I am allergic to.  The first one is going to the gym, but it is a necessary evil.  The second thing is freezing cold weather, also a necessary evil, but you can somewhat avoid your exposure if you plan properly.

I love decorating for Christmas. It is the one holiday of the year where I don’t mind going all out – unlike Halloween where, no matter how hard you try, the squirrels ruin your corn stalks and make a mess out of your front porch.  I bet the squirrels don’t bother Martha Stewart’s fall decorations.  Or my sister’s. No, the squirrels know who to pick on.

Anyway, since I love decorating for Christmas, but hate cold weather, I plan on putting my outdoor Christmas lights out this weekend.  Of course, I won’t turn them on until after Thanksgiving, but since the temperature was in the 70’s today and by Thanksgiving we’ll be lucky if they’re in the 40’s, I’m willing to look like a crazy woman hanging my lights this weekend.

That Works for Me.  For more helpful hints, please visit Rocks in my Dryer!

Edited to add: I feel like I need to clarify something – all our Christmas decorations are down and put away by New Year’s Day.  We do not want the Easter Bunny tripping over the Christmas lights, etc…

Warmly,

Carol

7 Responses to “Works for me Wednesday ~ Decorate for Christmas Now”

  1. I clicked through from WFMW because I wanted to find out what sort of person would decorate for Christmas 2½ months early. Now that I’m here, your idea makes a lot of sense. Thanks!

  2. Grammy said

    We have the same allergy’s. How funny. Good ideal to get them up now. Have a great week.

  3. I was just trying to convince my husband of the same thing. Wait till he sees I found it in print. :o)

    Blessings, Whitney

  4. Heather said

    Here in the South, you can string lights up year-round without fear of getting cold. You can also leave your lights up year-round like several of my neighbors do 🙂

  5. Qtpies7 said

    Thats awesome! LOL My husband won’t do lights anymore. I think it was the getting shocked a few years ago……..
    My friend solved the whole decorating delima at her house. She keeps a small tree behind her couch to pull out in Decemeber and just leaves the stockings up all year. I tease her mercilessly!

  6. Andrea said

    I, like Heather, live in the south and know what she means by neighbors with year-round-Christmas spirit! Truth is, I have to force myself to wait until after Thanksgiving to hang my lights because I start getting the Christmas Decorating Bug in October. Since I don’t want to turn into one of those people that have both a pumpkin and a reindeer on my lawn at the same time…I wait.
    Have fun out there, Carol!

  7. […] Worked at Williams-Sonoma Worship Song Sunday ~ Slow Fade by Casting Crowns from the movie FireproofWorks for me Wednesday ~ Decorate for Christmas NowApplication to Date My DaughterWorship Song Sunday ~ Mighty To Save by Laura Story100 ThingsWorks […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
