I Throw Like a Girl

Works for me Wednesday ~ Workout Tip

Posted by Carol on October 22, 2008

Last week, I mentioned that there are two things I’m allergic to.  One of them is cold weather, which translates to anything below 50 degrees. 

The other thing I’m allergic to is going to the gym. It is not one of my favorite things. Yet I’ve been going semi-faithfully for a few weeks now and I haven’t broken out in hives, sprained an ankle or broken any bones. All of those things have happened to me within weeks of joining a gym.  They are three separate incidents at three separate gyms.  Hence my belief that I am allergic to gyms.

However, I have found something that has kept me coming back these past few weeks.

A friend!  A friend who happens to be a member of the same small gym as I and who also does not enjoy working out alone.  She is tall, blonde, and thin.  She is also from Denmark and learned to speak English in Great Britain and as a result has the most beautiful accent I’ve ever heard. 

I should hate her. 

But, no, she’s wonderful and we’ve been friends since our sons, who are now in college, were in 7th grade together.

One day she mentioned that she joined a gym.  I asked her where and it turns out it was the same gym that I had not entered since I broke my wrist over a year ago.  Before I could stop the words from coming out of my mouth I said, “Why don’t I meet you there sometime?  We could work out together.”  

Not only did she take me up on my offer, she has turned out to be quite the personal trainer.  If we do 30 minutes on the treadmill, she then wants to do 20 more on the elliptical.  If I do ten push ups, she dares me to do ten more.  We compete over who can do the most crunches.  And we talk and laugh the whole time we’re there.  I wouldn’t have lasted this long if not for her. 

And the hope that if I do what she says I’ll become tall, blonde, and Danish.

That Works For Me!  Go visit Shannon to see what might work for you!

P.S. If you want to follow me at Twitter go to http://twitter.com/IThrowLikeAGirl

10 Responses to “Works for me Wednesday ~ Workout Tip”

  1. Beverlydru said

    So you feed me Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars to go with my Beignets on Saturday and now I need to work out? Yes, as a matter of fact I do.

    My best friend is an aerobics instructor and is a twig – she was merciless in our exercise regimen, but unfortuntely we don’t live in the same town anymore. Don’t tell her I miss her driving me to “do more!”

  2. Merrie. said

    We could so be friends! I hate to go to the gym! and I HATE cold weather! I do not want to be cold, I do not want to put on lots of clothes to stay warm, I do not like to turn on the heat because it stinks! I do well in south Florida!
    I like the idea of a friend who encourages you. I think that’s what I’ve been missing all these years. I have tried to time my workout times at the gym when no one else was there – so they couldn’t/wouldn’t make fun of my athletic “ability”.

  3. Brooke said

    my mother is my gym parter and it works great! (except those days we’re both feeling lazy)

  4. Andrea said

    I love it–If I do what she says I will become tall, blonde, and Danish. Too funny!

  5. Jerri said

    That’s what I need — a friend to mercilessly drive me to exercise …

  6. Sherry said

    I agree, it is so much easier with a friend. 😀

    Thank you for sharing! 😀

    Happy WFMW!
    Sherry

  7. Kristin said

    What I got from this post was this… Ooooh you have a Danish friend? One of best friends in HS was an exchange student from Denmark and she, too had the BEST accent.

    I completely passed over the fact you were talking about working out. I didn’t hear a word of it.

    Come by my place today to see how you can Cruise through the Holidays, in my WFMW.
    Have a Great Day!
    Kristin

  8. Diane said

    A tip for you: stilettos, Clairol Blonde Bombshell #74 and a fake, but subtle accent.
    You’re welcome.

  9. Linda said

    I wanted to add that anybody can be a blonde, dahling. I know. I’m proud of you for pushing through to your work out goals.

  10. Sorry i haven’t been around much for saturday stirrings. schedule has been busy!

    I need to find me a workout partner, for sure!

    and I followed you on twitter. welcome to the twitterverse!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
