I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Pot Roast in a Slow Cooker

Posted by Carol on October 25, 2008

Let’s hope that Saturday Stirrings gets posted this week. I’m trusting it to WordPress’ autopost feature because I’m going to be away from Friday night through Saturday at the New Jersey Christian Ministry Convention representing Transformed by Grace Ministries.

If you’re reading this right now, that’s a very good sign that it posted correctly. Unless, of course, it’s 2AM on Sunday and you’re just seeing this for the first time.  If that’s the case, why are you still awake anyway? 

I just got a new crock pot because my old one was way out of whack and killed everything I tried to cook in it.  Even on the low setting everything came out dry and overdone.  The house would smell great, but dinner would taste awful. So for all of you whose crock pots, oops, it’s really a slow cooker, work fine, here’s a recipe for ya. [wink]

Pot Roast

  • 3 1/2- 4 pound pot roast
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 3 carrots, sliced
  • 3 potatoes, quartered
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 1 stalk celery, sliced
  • 1 cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/4 cup water, beef broth, or wine

1. Combine 1/4 cup flour, salt, and pepper; coat meat.

2. Place all vegetables, except mushrooms, into slow cooker.  Top with the roast.  Spread mushrooms over roast.  Cover and cook on Low for 10-12 hours or High for 6-8 hours.

3. To thicken gravy, make a paste out of 3 tablespoons flour and water and stir into liquid in slow cooker.

Serves 6-8

Ok, kids, you know what to do.  To add your recipe click on Mr. Linky below.  Make sure to link directly to your recipe and then link back here so your readers can find more new recipes to try. 

 

 

Have fun and play nice!

4 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Pot Roast in a Slow Cooker”

  1. Kim said

    The crockpot was one of two small electrical appliances I brought to use here. With the electric service being 220 instead of 110, we also brought a transformer that allows me to use the crockpot without killing it here.
    But I couldn’t live without my crockpot! I use it a LOT!
    Not sure I’ll be making the pot roast for anyone other than us. Beef is big here, but primarily in asados where the meat is grilled. The idea of slow cooking meat is literally a foreign concept. So we’ll have to see if anyone will be brave enough to try a traditional Sunday pot roast 🙂

  2. Farrah said

    Looks like it tossed in a bunch of extra spaces, but other than that looks like the post came through all right! 🙂 Love pot roast! Oh, how I do love pot roast!!!! And this sounds like a great recipe for it! Come see mine…if you dare! Lol!

  3. Farrah said

    It took some fiddling, but I figured it out!! Your blog is designed to be viewed with the window maximized and the “favorites” pane turned off so as to have the maximun space for viewing. I always do the internet without my window maximized and with my “favorites” or “history” pane on, which makes your blog look really messed up when I view it like that. The ads on the right are invisible and the most recent post has tons of blank space between the title and the body. Also, the center post column is way to skinny. BUT, when I view it maximized, the ads come back, and it all looks normal other than the ads being a little chopped off. Then, if I kill my “favorites” pane, it looks perfect.

    I have never had this problem before, so I’m thinking most blogs are designed to be viewed with a smaller window. I’m wondering if you changed your blog recently, because the pot roast post was the first time I noticed it. Are the ads in the right bar new?

  4. Farrah said

    Actually I just took another look with everthing maximized, and even then things are cut off such as the right side of the title bar and the words next to “search.” Hmmm…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
