I Throw Like a Girl

On Dual Citizenship & Voting

Posted by Carol on November 3, 2008

I have dual-citizenship. 

As a Christian, my true citizenship is in Heaven.  While I live here on earth, I am also a citizen of the United States.

On Tuesday, we will be voting for our next President as well as some congressmen, senators, and other local officials.  Every presidential election in my memory has been tauted as “the most important election of our lifetime”.  Yes, they are important, but they can’t all be the most important election ever, can they? Maybe they can, or maybe it’s more media hype. That sort of media hype is just one of the reasons politics is one of my least favorite subjects, yet it is a subject that I must consider whether I enjoy it or not. This election is historic because we will either have our first black president or our first female vice-president. I’ll give the media that much. Also, the outcome of this election will affect very important issues in our country.

Each election is important for different reasons. The obvious reason is that we have the privilege and right to vote that many other people around the world do not have. We get to have our say about who will lead us.  Each election has different issues at the forefront of the voters’ minds. Americans have strong opinions about the two candidates in this race and equally strong opinions of the platforms the two major parties represent.  When people have such strong and opposing opinions, there is bound to be great joy on the part of the winning side, and great disappointment and perhaps even despair on the losing side.

I feel both excited and frustrated going into Tuesday’s elections.  I honestly do not think that either party can/will make the changes needed to make a dent in the problems our country has. I think there is innately too much corruption, power, and ambition in the government, but I am enough of an optimist to hope that someone that I vote for can make a small difference.

As a citizen of the United States, I will vote on Tuesday.  Hopefully, by the time we go to bed on Tuesday night, we will know who our next president will be. 

 As a citizen of Heaven, how will I react if my guy does not win? I have commented on another blog that I am a little “skeert” of one of the candidates. But really, as a Christian, I know that God is in control. He will not be suprised by the winner of Tuesday’s presidential election.

Romans 13:1 tells us, “Let every soul be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and the authorities that exist are appointed by God.”

God has a plan for each of our lives, for America, and for the world. His will will be done no matter who wins.  Job said, “I know you can do all things; no plan of yours can be thwarted.”  Not even by John McCain or Barack Obama.

We may strongly disagree with the person who wins on Tuesday and/or with the party that may take the majority in the House and Senate, but Proverbs 21:1 reminds us that “The king’s heart is in the hand of the Lord; He directs it like a watercourse, wherever He pleases.” The Democrats and Republicans may think they are in charge, but we know better.

John Piper wrote the best article I have ever read on Christians and voting called “Let Christians Vote As Though They Were Not Voting” based on I Corinthians 7:29-31. Check it out.  Or, if you want to hear the words for yourself, take a few minutes and watch this video of John Piper himself taking about the most important issues in this election.  I would love to hear what you think.

 

3 Responses to “On Dual Citizenship & Voting”

  1. stefanie said

    Yes. I read it last week and I just read it again. I still agree.

  2. Wonderful summary. I just posted this video on my blog too. It was helpful in reminding me of what is most important. Thank you for the wisdom you shared… I’m praising God that He is God Almighty, All Sufficient One!

  3. beverlydru said

    Dual citizenship- that’s a wonderful way of putting it.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
