I Throw Like a Girl

NaBloPoMo or Something Like That

Posted by Carol on November 4, 2008

All two of you who read my blog may have noticed that for the past few weeks  months, things have gotten a little stale around here. I’ve been relying on Saturday Stirrings, Worship Song Sundays, and Works For Me Wednesdays for inspiration on what to post. 

In order to stir things up and dust things off a bit, I’ve taken the NaBloPoMo challenge.  Apparently, November is National Blog Posting Month. 

WHO KNEW? 

The goal is to post on your blog every day, including weekends for the entire month. 

There’s also a little something else going on in November…what could it be?  Oh, yeah, that would be the election which is over today which leaves the whole rest of the month with nothing do to but post on my blog. I’ll still do all the above mentioned weekly posts, but now I will also fill in the rest of the days with the usual mediocre mediocreness you’ve come to expect from me.  I may throw in some pictures, too.  Any other ideas would be much appreciated.  Thank you.

Now go out and vote for the McCain of your choice. (oops! Did I just say that?) Yes, I did. It is my blog after all.

6 Responses to “NaBloPoMo or Something Like That”

  1. Merrie. said

    Yes and AMEN! I’m with you ! We are about to get out and vote…. yippeeeeee!

  2. Pam M. said

    Carol….you are SO hysterical.

    First of all, I wouldn’t worry about mediocreness or however you said it. I thought blogs were all supposed to be little glimpses into the lives of our friends or total strangers, and not everyone’s life is like an action flick. While I’m not overly interested in how many times someone changed their child’s diaper in an afternoon or how many times their dog pooed on the newly installed carpet, I AM interested in hearing what is on a person’s mind and heart during the course of the day. What you may feel is a mediocre post about feeling lonely or having to deal with irritating folks at work, it might mean a whole lot to me, who might be experiencing the same thing.

    So I say, “go for it, toots.” I’ll bet you’ll do just fine.

    BTW, thanks for the other blog posting about voting today. I know people who are dead serious when they have said if “so and so” gets into office, they’re leaving the country. Well then, Bon Voyage and Go With God to them all. Listening to what John Piper said helped to put it all in perspective for me. I can cast my vote today and be at peace that God’s got it ALL covered, no matter WHO wins.

    Blessings,
    Pam

  3. Your post made me smile. 🙂

    Posting daily is a lot to think about – how about sharing your favorite type of books (one day, cookbooks. one day, spiritual growth. one day, fiction… etc.) Just a thought. I’ve wanted to do something like that on my blog but it will be a while before I get to it. (I’m slowing down my postings for a while- too much time on the computer!) 🙂

  4. Greg said

    I have this thing where I will only vote for someone if I have a relative with the same name. Since I am not related to any Barracks or however you spell it, I have to vote for John. Sorry, that is just my rule. Oh and I am a dye hard Republican too. 🙂

  5. Kim said

    Thanks for posting the video of Piper; that was good. The hubby and I download his messages and listen to them on our iPods. His idea that abortion, radical gay activism, etc. IS the judgment certainly makes you stop and think, doesn’t it?
    I remember right before Clinton was elected the first time, I was driving somewhere and thinking about the election and was just overcome by the feeling that WE WERE GOING TO GET EXACTLY WHAT WE DESERVED. That as a nation we’d been moving farther and farther from what the founding fathers had envisioned, and the choices we’d been making for years had inevitably led to where we were. I was so worked up, and just felt like God was telling me to STOP, that’s not what it’s all about. Yes, being a citizen and voting is important but it’s not the END ALL.
    I feel the same way now.
    That said, I did do a lot of crazy things in order to vote this time, and spent a lot of money to get our absentee ballots delivered and then returned in time.
    And I’m trying not to check cnn.com and foxnews.com every 10 minutes 🙂
    It’s hard to keep a news and political junkie down during an election!

  6. Vote for the McCain of your choice – hahahahaha! You are so funny!

    I look forward to seeing what you’ll be posting this month. If a day comes and you’ve got nothing, post a pic of a cute kid, puppy or kitty. That counts.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
