I Throw Like a Girl

Will Blog for Shoes

Posted by Carol on November 11, 2008

Today in the mail, I got a coupon for $5 off my next purchase at Famous Footwear.  I am such a loyal customer that they just wanted to thank me. I have plenty of choices when it comes to footwear. Just ask my husband.

But for some other folks? Not so much.

Did you know that over 300 million people in the world do not own a pair of shoes and are forced to walk around in unsafe and potentially life-threatening conditions? Did you know that very same $5 will buy 2 pairs of shoes for a child, man or woman who have never owned a pair of shoes in their lives?

 Soles 4 Souls, a charity whose sole (I crack myself up) mission is to get shoes to the people who need them, along with Anne Jackson, has organized a challenge – to raise enough money to purchase 50,000 pairs of shoes in 50 days. I think they we can do it, if we all get involved.

It seems like such a simple thing, yet Jesus said that if anyone gives a glass of water to someone who is thirsty in His name, it is like we gave the glass of water to Him.  This is our chance to be the hands and feet of Jesus to those who can’t even walk through their village with their head lifted lest they step on a rusty nail, sharp rock, or broken glass.

Getting involved is easy.

First, go to 50000shoes.com and make your $5 (or more) donation. I did it and it took less than 2 minutes.

Second, spread the word. Write a post on your blog, email your friends, join the Facebook group. Put their banner on your site (I would if I knew how).

Third, go to Anne’s blog to read all about it and get more ideas on how you can help.

Please let me know if you decide to donate and/or write a post about the 50,000 shoes. It’ll make me feel better than a coupon in the mail any day.

One Response to “Will Blog for Shoes”

  1. Beverlydru said

    I’ll blog for clogs! (I don’t think I’m as funny as you) I’ll let you know when I post on this. A lot can be accomplished with many hands (or is it feet?). Oh my- the puns roll on this one.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
