I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW ~ Grocery Delivery

Posted by Carol on November 12, 2008

I know, I know…It sounds terribly spoiled of me to have my groceries delivered, but think about it.

Think about the time it takes to make the list, cut coupons, drive to the store, shop for at least an hour, go through the check out line, bag your groceries, load them in your car, drive home, unload the car, and put them away.  And don’t forget about doing all that with 2 or more kids in tow. Whew! Just writing that made me tired.

What if you could cut out driving to the store, shopping for the groceries, the check out line and bagging, and loading and unloading the car?  How happy would you be?  I’ll tell you how happy you’d be.

Very.

I have been using Peapod for grocery delivery for over a year and I love it.  I log in, make my list on-line, pick a delivery time and date and then wait for the groceries to be carried into my house.  I set up payment with my debit card number when I set up the account, so I don’t even have to deal with money – other than a tip, but only if I have cash on hand (sorry, delivery guy).  They also accept coupons.

In my area, the delivery charge is $6.95.  Personally I feel it’s worth every penny, but there are ways to lower that.  Having my payment set up in advance knocks $1 off my total.  Then you can choose off-peak delivery times that can knock another $1-$2 off.  Every once in a while they will offer free delivery if you meet certain criteria.

There are trade-offs, such as things being out of stock sometimes, or not being able to squeeze and sniff your own produce (never had a problem though).  In the event of a mistake, a toll free number connects you with extremely helpful customer service people who will promptly make things right or credit your account.

Call me spoiled, but it Works for Me!  For more great ideas, visit Shannon at Rocks in my Dryer.

4 Responses to “WFMW ~ Grocery Delivery”

  1. Monica said

    Believe me, I would totally do grocery delivery if it were available here!! Buying groceries is the biggest source of stress in my week!

  2. Suz said

    Wow… never thought of having someone delivering my groceries! I’m such a bargain hunter now that I don’t know if I would trust someone else to make the best purchase options for my family.
    Do you check the ads before you order to get the best for your buck?
    I’ve considered shopping for others as a bargain shopper, but don’t know what all that would involve or how to charge for it.
    Eye opener for me 🙂

  3. Heather said

    I have to say when I was on bedrest my hubby LOVED that they delivered groceries! That meant he didn’t have to go to the grocery store. =) And after the twins were born, it was a life saver! But getting out of the house, even for an hour to go grocery shopping is something I look forward to now. LOL!

  4. Beverlydru said

    Heavenly. Divine. Those are the words that popped into my mind as I read. I can see where it would save me money too as it would stop impulse buys.
    Too bad they don’t offer this for those of us in the boondocks. Do you think the delivery would cost extra if you are 30 miles from the grocery store down a 3.5 mile bumpy dirt road? LOL

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
