I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings with a Giveaway Mixed In!

Posted by Carol on November 21, 2008

Ok, kids, there’s a lot going today in Saturday Stirrings, so make sure you don’t miss a thing.  We have a recipe to share, a link for a coupon, and a Giveaway!  Oh, yeah, Mr. Linky’s here, too.

Here’s the deal. Progresso is offering 3 of my readers a really cool Progresso Perfect Recipe Gift Basket.  Each basket includes a free coupon for Progresso Broth, a recipe card holder, recipe box and wicker basket, as well as a set of serving spoons and a spoon rest. For a picture and more details about the baskets, go here.

The recipe I am sharing today is from Progresso.  Since one of the ingredients is Progresso Broth, here is a link for a coupon you can print right from your computer that you can use towards the purchase of Progresso Broth:

http://bricks.coupons.com/bstart.asp?o=54526&ci=1&c=GM&p=KhuiQaPe

Michael Chiarello’s Mashed Potato Gratin

  • Unsalted butter for greasing casserole
  • 2 1/2 cups Progresso® chicken broth
  • 4 large russet potatoes, peeled, diced (5 cups)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup Progresso® Italian style panko crispy bread crumbs

Heat oven to 375°F. Lightly butter 2-quart casserole. Pour broth into 2-quart saucepan. Add potatoes; stir in 1 teaspoon salt. Heat to boiling. Reduce heat; cover and simmer about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are tender. Place colander over medium bowl; drain potatoes, reserving broth.

Rinse and dry saucepan. Cook 2 tablespoons of the butter and the garlic in saucepan over low heat 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Return potatoes to saucepan with butter and garlic; mash with potato masher.

Add 1 cup of the reserved broth to potatoes; mix until smooth. Stir in remaining 2 tablespoons butter and 1/4 cup of the cheese. Adjust seasoning to taste with salt and pepper.

Spoon potato mixture into casserole. Top with remaining 1/4 cup cheese and the bread crumbs. Bake about 20 minutes or until golden brown.

9 servings (1/2 cup each)

Now for the Giveaway.  There are several ways to enter.

-If you mention the giveaway on your blog and link back to mine, I will give you one entry. Be sure to tell me in a comment that you did it.

-Leave a comment telling us your favorite holiday dish for another entry

-Post a recipe on your blog and leave a link on Mr. Linky and and be sure to link back here for two more entries. Be sure you link directly to your recipe and not your home page, so folks can find your recipe easily. If you don’t have a blog, you can leave a recipe in the comments.

That’s a potential of 4 entries per person.  I will write everyone’s names on a piece of paper for each entry and have Darling Daughter pull 3 names out of a bowl on Sunday evening at 9 PM EST to determine the winners. I will notify the winners by email.

Ok, clear as mud?  Email me with any questions at carol(at)ithrowlikeagirl(dot)com

10 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings with a Giveaway Mixed In!”

  1. I blogged about your giveaway here: http://motheroftwoyesposahermosa.blogspot.com/2008/11/im-making-progresso-in-kitchen.html

    thanks for the opportunity!

    micaela6955 at msn dot com

  2. for holiday foods, I have turkey and we also have tamales to celebrate hubby’s Central American culture and holiday foods, so it really is a fun place with lots of nice food and not the traditional meal!

    micaela6955 at msn dot com

  3. Farrah said

    Goody!!! Imagine my delight when I came to link and saw a giveaway going! I have good timing, no? Sorry I’m not more consistent. Life and stuff gets in the way sometimes. But it’s all good!

    For Christmas I’d have to say my grandma’s fudge. I’ve had fudge many places, made it myself using HER recipe and NOTHING beats her fudge. I don’t know what she does, but it works.

    What else . . . Oh! I mentioned you are having a giveaway.

    Last but not least: Happy Thanksgiving! There, I even did something extra! That should get me to about 5 or 6 entries. Lol! 🙂

  4. Farrah said

    PS Your recipe sounds SOOOOO yummy!! Have I mentioned potatoes are my favorite food? Don’t worry. You’ll be hearing that many more times. What am I up to now? 7 or 8 entries? 😉

  5. In addition to my cranberry relish, my favorite Thanksgiving food is my mom’s stuffing! yumm!!!

    I also mentioned the giveaway in today’s recipe post – does that count?

    So I think that gives me 4 entries – woohoo!!

    so glad you’re continuing with SS. A giveaway is a great way to get some momentum back!

  6. Melanie said

    I have two favorites on Thanksgiving Day.

    #1 is my mother’s cornbread dressing – simply the best!

    #2 is my sweet potato souffle – It’s not Thanksgiving Dinner without both of these!

  7. Mel said

    I always make homemade croissants for my Thanksgiving contribution. Other than that I am all about the mashed potatoes and pie baby!!

  8. Susan said

    With all the Tahnksgiving leftovers we make Turkey pot pies!! Grat with mashed potao topping!

  9. Beverlydru said

    Great looking recipe. I’m looking for the best pecan pie recipe for Thanksgiving. I’m calling my aunt today for hers and hope to get that one. It’s a favorite at my house! My mom usually makes it but I need another pie so I”m going to make one too.

  10. Beverlydru said

    PS It looks to me like Merrie forgot to post her link over here- she put up a good looking recipe.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
