I Throw Like a Girl

I feel like I should at least thank someone.

Posted by Carol on November 25, 2008

Something nice, but strange happened today.  It’s sort of a mystery.

I came home from work and found a gift had been delivered to me.  It was a beautiful edible fruit arrangment. It was sitting on the counter with my first and last name on it. It had our correct mailing address, too.  I looked at the card and it read, “Thank you very much, Rachael Goldman”.

Well, Rachael Goldman, I have a couple of things to say to you. And a couple of questions.

First of all, you are very welcome.  And thank YOU for such a beautiful and delicious thank you gift. Next, uhm, who are you, and what are you thanking me for? It seems I have no idea who you are.

I find this situation a little awkward and a bit disconcerting. I am usually very good with names and I usually remember most of the things I do. So if I knew the lovely and very generous Rachael, and I had done something so gift-worthy for her, I really think I would remember both her and the thing I did. The problem is I don’t remember either.

So that leaves several possibilities:

  • Rachael made a mistake.
  • The edible arrangement people made a mistake.
  • Someone’s playing a joke on me.
  • I really do know Rachael and am just losing my mind.

So Rachael, whoever you are, thank you for the fruit and thank you for the blog fodder. I hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving!

6 Responses to “I feel like I should at least thank someone.”

  1. What a funny problem to have!! Thanks for following me on twitter
    Mary

  2. Wow. I would be perplexed too.

    I tagged you for a meme. Stop by my blog when you get a chance!

  3. Pam M. said

    Carol,

    Strange day for deliveries. My husband called me at work this morning (he’s home all week) to tell me that someone from our son’s school’s football team dropped off a 12 pound turkey. We have no idea why. I kid you not. And our son neither plays football nor likes football. When I called his school, they told me that our address was “on the list.” What list? The turkey delivery list, but of course. I have NO IDEA what’s going on here, but hey…..I’m not complainin’!! It’s an unexpected blessing. Gobble gobble!

  4. Little Sis said

    Here is what I found when I googled the name. It must be someone associated with his school.

    * Rachael Goldman
    * School: Rutgers – State University of New Jersey
    * Location: Newark, NJ
    * Department: History

    Just call me Nancy Drew

  5. Beverlydru said

    This used to happen to me with a degree of frequency when I shared my first and last name with a TV news anchor in town. I would get personal notes and invitations and have no clue who the sender was.

  6. Linda said

    That is too funny/weird. As you know, I love a mystery. Let me know what you find out!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
