I Throw Like a Girl

A Simple Thanksgiving

Posted by Carol on November 27, 2008

thanksgiving-08-006This year Thanksgiving was very simple. It was just the four of us, Hubby, College Son, Darling Daughter and me.  Although I did miss the hustle and bustle of a large crowd for dinner, I love having all of us together especially since the kids are getting older and I can’t take it for granted that they will always be home.

College Son works at Starbucks and he was scheduled to open this morning. That means he had to be there at 4:45 AM. He was supposed to be off by 1:15 but I guess the line was out the door all day, so they kept him until 3:30 PM.  I had planned a late dinner, but I was a little annoyed at the caffeine junkies who should have been home eating turkey so my son could get home to eat his. College Son was not at all upset because on holidays they earn time and a half. His feet were loudly protesting the long day by the time he got home though. : )

Dinner was simple with the usual Thanksgiving menu: turkey, gravy, mashed potatoes, broccoli casserole, rolls, and cranberry sauce. Home made pumpkin pie and apple pie were dessert, of course.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving with friends and family!  Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Oh, in case you’re wondering, Saturday Stirrings is taking a break this weekend for the holiday. It will be back at its regularly scheduled time and location next Saturday.  Thank you for your understanding!

3 Responses to “A Simple Thanksgiving”

  1. Beverlydru said

    Glad you had good Thanksgiving. Enjoy your holiday weekend.

  2. Val said

    Happy Thanksgiving! Love the centerpiece!

  3. Sounds lovely! And I like the new digs!!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
