I Throw Like a Girl

So You Want Me To Blog?? by Sylane Mack

Posted by Carol on December 1, 2008

My dear friend, Sylane Mack is the President of a wonderful ministry called Transformed by Grace.  For many months I have been encouraging her to start a blog of her own as yet another vehicle to communicate the message God has laid on her heart as well as stay in touch with those she has ministered to at her speaking engagments.  In order to “get her feet wet” I have invited her to write a guest post on my blog and she has agreed to take me up on that offer today! Here’s Sylane:

So, you want me to blog. That statement is directed to the Staff and Board Members of Transformed by Grace, Inc {info(at)transformedbygrace(dot)org} and, to my dear friend, Carol –our Director of Ministry Advancement {carol(at)transformedbygrace(dot)org} who invited me to write on her blog today. (Actually, she invited me a long time ago! I’ve just been a bit blog-shy!)

I am such a neophyte at (and hugely ignorant of) this whole BLOG-techie thing! Really!

I completed my BA and MS degrees by:

  • spending thousands of hours searching through rolls of micro-fishe (and almost giving myself light-flickering induced seizures!)
  • reading actual hard-copy books (remember those?)
  • typing my research papers on a typewriter (at least it was electric!)
  • and using approximately 3 tons of white-out over the course of my college days!

My first entry into this high-tech world was when I transitioned my ministry-speaking-presentations off from my old typewriter (which I had from 1974-1996. Yikes!) to the magical, mystical world of WORD PROCESSING! It was scary and exhilarating. It gave my creative juices greater freedom (and speed!), and retired my old typewriter and sticky-brush white-out once and for all!

My next baby-tech-step was when I set up my own email account. (Okay! Someone else had to set it up for me!) Communicating could now be accomplished quickly, conveniently, en masse and without the bother of a busy signal, an answering maching OR that conversation that I knew could go on just a little too long. So cool.

Next, I learned how to research all sorts of information on-line. Sorry, but I still can’t call it “surfing the web”. That’s just too hip for me.

In 2003, with its birth as an incorporated ministry, Transformed by Grace entered cyberspace through its own place on (drum roll, please!) the World-Wide-Web! Omigosh! I had come through as many techie-growth-steps as anyone could possibly have managed in such a short period of time! Right?

Nope! Blogging entered into the picture. OKAY! I know, as I said before: “So you want me to blog.”

And now…I agree! Blogging is an amazing vehicle to communicate with so many people!  And I do have the passion to communicate with anyone and everyone who will listen…okay, read, what I have to say!

You see, my passion to communicate with you is based on the passionate love and transforming grace of Jesus Christ!

Life is short. And as a follower of Jesus, I have been given the crazy purpose and the wild passion to live out (during my short life) and tell about the soul-freeing truth that: Jesus Christ is King of king and Lord of lords! Jesus is the long awaited Messiah of Israel, and the Savior of all who would believe. Jesus is who He says He is, and does what He says He does: “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (Read John 14:6 in the Bible.)

I might be a neophyte when it comes to the techie world, but I am convinced that these words spoken by Jesus are true!

It is with passionate love and urgent hope that I pray you each would intimately know the unfailing love and transforming power of Jesus Christ. He is God’s Anointed One, our Messiah,  our Savior and our Lord. He is our life.

I know because my life had been radically, beautifully and amazingly transformed by the grace and love of the Lord Jesus Christ! And I am convinced that yours can be, too!

In love, peace, and purposeful passion,

Sylane

For more info about the ministry of Transformed by Grace, Inc. and about Sylane Mack–TBG’s president and principal speaker (and neophyte blogger) visit http://www.transformedbygrace.org

On January 1, 2009, Sylane will also begin a blog of her own. Check it out at www.theTBloG.org (currently under construction)

4 Responses to “So You Want Me To Blog?? by Sylane Mack”

  1. Beverlydru said

    Nice to hear from you, Sylane. I honestly can’t imagine how we even managed to have a college without computers. Registration in lines at the gyn at Univ. of FL were daunting, to say the least. I’m with you. Progress is here.

  2. First: thank you, Carol, for letting me spread my little blog wings on YOUR blog! You are fabulous and generous!
    Second: I learned not to use bullets–it creates some seriously goofy cyber-space symbols!
    Third: thank you, Beverlydru, for writing my very first blog world comment! You are now posted to a special place in my heart!
    Fourth: I pray that God will encourage many of you to book an event with Transformed by Grace. Not for me–but for all of us to more intimately know our God who “is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine”

  3. Pam M. said

    Well, hey there, Sylane. Welcome to the wonderfully wild and wacky world of blogging. Nice to “see” ya! I’m not a blogger myself…..I lurk and comment here and there. Thanks for stepping out of your comfort zone and jumping right in the water. Your message was beautifully put….as usual. I hope that many, many people who stop by this blog and read this will be moved to seek our Savior. Viva la vida, my friend,
    Pam

  4. Andrea said

    Sylane, I enjoyed your post. Like us, I think you’ll soon be hooked on blogging and other “techie” stuff in no time.

    May God bless you in your new endeavor. I look forward to visiting your site.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
