I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW ~ Boost your Turkey Gravy

Posted by Carol on December 2, 2008

I know, Thanksgiving was last week, but I wanted to test out this idea before I shared it with the rest of Bloggsville. Besides, I’ll bet many of you will be having turkey for Christmas, too.

I got this idea from my mother who is a gravy-maker extraordinaire.  When she gets invited to friends’ houses for Thanksgiving, they recruit her to make their gravy. There really is an art to it and she’s got it down.

Here’s a bit of her gravy-making advice. Up to a week before Thanksgiving or whenever you will be serving the turkey, roast a chicken and collect all the drippings.  Of course, you’ll want to separate the fat from the good stuff – discarding the fat.

Use the roasted chicken in different recipes, but save the drippings. When it’s time to make your turkey gravy, add the drippings from the chicken to the turkey’s for an extra boost to your gravy. This hint made the difference between us having gravy with Thanksgiving dinner and not having it. For some reason, my turkey did not produce enough drippings to make decent gravy at all.

Tragedy was averted and Thanksgiving was saved because of this little trick. Thanks, Mom!

For more helpful hints, visit Shannon at Rocks in my Dryer.

4 Responses to “WFMW ~ Boost your Turkey Gravy”

  1. Beverlydru said

    My mom has told me all of my adult life that gravy is easy. She makes GOOD gravy. ME? Not so much… in fact not at all. Thank you for saying it’s an art…at least it makes me feel better that there’s something tricky to that which has eluded me.

  2. Melanie said

    It took me about 10 years of marriage before I could make gravy like my Mom. But I persevered because I refused to use the jarred stuff and also because I wanted to carry on the Great Gravy making tradition of my Mamaw and my Mom.

  3. Thanks for the tip. I LOVE gravy! This would mean even more of it, yes?

  4. I think I take the prize for worst gravy maker of all time–no kidding. I need all the tips I can get! Thanks!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
