I Throw Like a Girl

The Word of the Day is “Love”

Posted by Carol on December 4, 2008

Love. All day long this word has crossed my path and been on my mind. It started this morning when I was reading my Bible and these verses spoke to me:

Galatians 5:13-15 “You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, serve one another in love. The entire law is summed up in a single command: Love your neighbor as yourself. If you keep on biting and devouring each other, watch out or you will be destroyed by each other.”

Later, as I checked what was going on in Twitter, I saw that Mel had written this:

Sitting in Starbuck’s watching the love of Jesus pour over us all as a homeless man walks in & is unconditionally loved by everyone there.

Then when I looked at the section for today in my One Year Bible, today’s passage included I John 4:7 – Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God.

All these not so subtle reminders caused me to wonder, who do I need to show more love to?

Could it be my husband? Or my teenagers who, if I am honest, are sometimes harder to love than the cute little babies with toothless grins they used to be? Perhaps it is the doctors I work for? Or our patients, some of whom are more lovable than others? Maybe it’s the practitioner in my office with an alternate lifestyle and new age beliefs?

Who needs to see Jesus’ love through me?

The answer is all of the above (and then some).

I once overheard a conversation where someone said that they like Jesus, but Christianity has too many rules. I thought about that conversation for the rest of that day and realized something. Christianity does have a lot of man-made rules, but Jesus only has two. …love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind…and love your neighbor as yourself… Matthew 22:36-40.

Who is Jesus asking you to love today?




3 Responses to “The Word of the Day is “Love””

  1. Melanie said

    Only two rules to live by…that’s great!

  2. Beverlydru said

    I love this post. : ) I don’t get points for wittiness this morning but thank you for this wonderful food for thought.

  3. Pam M. said

    How appropriate for me this morning, what with all the “stuff” that’s going on between me and my son and my husband. ‘Nuff said. You know. :0)

    Thank you, Carol.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
