I Throw Like a Girl

Christmas Tour of Homes

Posted by Carol on December 15, 2008

BooMamaChristmasTour

Sophie is hosting The Christmas Tour of Homes once again. Last year, I was too chicken intimidated to participate, but after a whole year of blogging, I have lost all of my decorating inhibitions and decided to play along this time.

I mean, you guys have read about my lack of Martha-genes, you’ve seen my Thanksgiving table, and my recent attempt at a gingerbread house.  So, now we’re just like family.

So welcome to my home. As usual the decorations are simple, but the welcome is warm.  I have a very tasty appetizer recipe for you at the end of the post.  So grab a cup of coffee and a slice of warm Dutch apple pie and enjoy the tour!

christmas-2-005Hubs and Darling Daughter scoping out a possible tree to cut at the Christmas tree farm.

christmas-2-014Just starting to get the lights on.

christmas-2-019All decked out.

christmas-2-022The stockings all hung by the chimney with care.

christmas-2-026These are wax houses and trees, otherwise known as candles, I suppose :). I never burn them.  I also have a little village that is going to be set up in the dining room, but haven’t finished that yet. I need to get some fake snow. When I do I’ll take a pic and post it here.

Now for hanging in with me so long, here is a really de-lish appetizer recipe.

Spinach Balls

  • 1 10 ounce package frozen chopped spinach
  • 1 cup seasoned stuffing (not cubed)
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 3 eggs beaten
  • 6 tbsp softened butter
  • salt & pepper to taste

Cook the spinach and drain well. Combine all the ingredients and roll into walnut sized balls and freeze on a cookie sheet. Once frozen they can be transferred to a freezer bag.  Keep frozen until just before serving. Cook frozen spinach balls at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Serve warm.

To continue on the tour, click on the cute button at the top of this post.

Merry Christmas and God bless us everyone!

20 Responses to “Christmas Tour of Homes”

  1. Melanie said

    Very pretty. Good job on picking such a beatifully shaped tree!
    What color is the paint in the room w/tree?

  2. Merrie. said

    You COULD be Martha! Everything looks beautiful and I can’t wait to try the spinach balls… a new “treat”!
    Merrie Christmas!

  3. Kathy said

    Glad you got brave-you have a lovely Christmas home.

  4. Heather said

    I love your home, it looks so warm and inviting!! Merry Christmas!!

  5. Pendy said

    Thanks for letting us into your home. Merry Christmas.

  6. PEA said

    Thank you so much for such a delightful tour of your home, everything looks so beautifully decorated for Christmas:-) Merry Christmas to you and yours! xo

  7. Carol said

    Melanie,
    The paint on the wall is Benjamin Moore’s Caramel Apple. It looks even better IRL than in pics!

  8. Rose Yoder said

    Good job on the tree:) You have great taste! Thanks for the tour! Merry Christmas!

  9. Everything looks warm and inviting! Beautiful tree! Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  10. Kim said

    If I didn’t know you’d cut down your own tree I’d think it was fake — it’s so perfectly proportioned! And perfectly decked out in all its finery. Beautiful!

  11. Dana Jones said

    I think it is all very pretty! Your husband and daughter picked out a beautiful tree!

    Please come by our house anytime!
    Love, Dana and Daisy
    A Cat in My Lap (#174)

  12. Dana Jones said

    oops, I had my old link in the comment form!

  13. I love the red berries on your chandelier! So pretty!

  14. Thanks for sharing! Beautiful Home! Merry Christmas!
    Kara – North Texas
    John 3:30

  15. Dena said

    Your tree is gorgeous and I love how pretty your fireplace and mantle look!

  16. Carly said

    Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us. And thanks for the yummy recipe too!

    Merry Christmas,
    Carly

  17. Sport Mama said

    Beautiful tree. Thanks for sharing.

  18. You cut your own tree!!! Back in the day BEFORE I went back to work full time, we used to do that too. I MISS those days.

    I LOVE the room where you put the tree – – – those hardwood floors, the paint color, the wood work color – – – ALL of it.

    Thanks for inviting me into your tour.

    Merry Christmas

  19. […] Christmas Tour of Homes […]

  20. Paige said

    What a beautiful home! Thanks for sharing.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
