I Throw Like a Girl

1 Corinthians 13 Christmas Style by Sharon Jaynes

Posted by Carol on December 16, 2008

As fun as it is to deck our halls and share the pictures with all our friends in Bloggsville, when my sweet friend, Pam emailed this to me the other day, I knew this is what I really wanted to share with everyone.  While my decorating skills may need improvement,  I hope that my “1 Corinthians 13 skills” are ever increasing. Be blessed, Carol

If I decorate my house perfectly with lovely plaid bows, strands of twinkling lights, and shiny glass balls, but do not show love to my family – I’m just another decorator.

If I slave away in the kitchen, baking dozens of Christmas cookies, preparing gourmet meals, and arranging a beautifully adorned table at mealtime, but do not show love to my family – I’m just another cook.

If I work at the soup kitchen, carol in the nursing home, and give all that I have to charity, but do not show love to my family – It profits me nothing.

If I trim the spruce with shimmering angels and crocheted snowflakes, attend a myriad of holiday parties, and sing in the choir’s cantata but do not focus on Christ, I have missed the point.

Love stops the cooking to hug the child.

Love sets aside the decorating to kiss the husband.

Love is kind, though harried and tired.

Love doesn’t envy another home that has coordinated Christmas china and table linens.

Love doesn’t yell at the kids to get out of the way.

Love doesn’t give only to those who are able to give in return, but rejoices in giving to those who can’t.

Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, and endures all things.

Love never fails.  Video games will break; pearl necklaces will be lost; golf clubs will rust.  But giving the gift of love will endure.


8 Responses to “1 Corinthians 13 Christmas Style by Sharon Jaynes”

  1. Melanie said

    This is wonderful.
    Thanks for posting it.
    At the top of my priority list today is to play a game of Scrabble with my youngest son!

  2. That there is the real underlying theme of the season. A much needed reminder to stay focused.

  3. Kim said

    Really love this!

  4. Beverlydru said

    This is beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Deidra said

    So sweet and so perfectly said. I’m going to direct my blog readers to this link today! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Sheryl said

    I was just directed her from Deidra’s blog. I agree it was said perfectly. How many times do we get do caught up in what where doing we forget to show the love we have to our family. Thanks for the reminder.

  7. Mel said

    What a beautiful post and a perfect reminder of what the season is all about. I am linking up on Sunday with my Sunday linkage!

  8. Angie said

    Oh! I need to hang this on my wall and look at it every hour! Thanks for sharing this.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
