I Throw Like a Girl

A New Year’s Meme

Posted by Carol on January 2, 2009

Jo-Lynne at Musings of a Housewife did this fun meme for the New Year. Since 2008 was the first full year of blogging for me, I decided to play along, too!

So here we go – on the 2nd day of 2009, I give you the first line of the first post of each month of 2008.

January

If you give a mouse a cookie a man a new TV

Written in the style of the childrens’ book, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, it’s the true story of what happened when my husband got a new TV.

February

My driver’s license expired on January 31st and being the procrastinator that I am, I waited until January 31st to head on down to the DMV to renew my license.

(Click on the sentence if you want to visit the post; I’m not sure why it’s not highlighted like the other ones.)

This post is about my very exciting trip to the DMV and how reading blogs could improve the lives of the DMV employees.

March

Technically, today is really Sunday, if you believe in using a calendar, but this is DeeDee’s recipe carnival and since she is kind enough to host it, I will play nice and call it by her title.

This is a Saturday Stirrings recipe for easy burritos.  And, btw, Saturday Stirrings is now hosted right here at I Throw Like a Girl on, you know, Saturdays. Go figure.

April

How appropriate that today is April Fool’s Day.

This post is all about my visit to the cardiologist.  I realize this makes me sound slightly geriatric, especially if I keep on writing about doctor’s appointments and my ailments.

May

You asked for more pictures on my blog, so I am attempting to post some of our dogs.

Posting pictures was the bane of my existence for the longest time. This post was the one that got me past that bloggy learning curve.

June

We went to the Saturday evening service at our church for the first time ever.

This is a YouTube video of Bebo Norman’s song  I Will Lift My Eyes.  I post a worship song every Sunday.

July

In our house, we never rarely use bad language.

In this post, my teenage daughter explains why using a certain bad word might not be so bad after all.  Hmm…

August

APPLICATION FOR PERMISSION TO DATE MY

DAUGHTER

Self explanatory!

September

It’s the Backwards Edition of Works for Me Wednesday (insert Game Show music here).

Here I asked for advice on starting a new blog. The blog that I had in mind actually just launched yesterday!

October

Linda at 2nd Cup of Coffee wrote a debriefing post after doing such a wonderful job of hosting “I See What You’re Saying”.

This is a follow up post on the vlog I posted at Linda’s vlog carnival.  It includes a picture of a New Jersey Longhorn.

November

I wish I had baskets and coffee for everyone, but I think my son would get fired if I tried to get that much free Starbucks coffee.

I announced the winners of the Bloggy Giveaways Carninval. How fun is that?

December

My dear friend, Sylane Mack is the President of a wonderful ministry called Transformed by Grace.

This is the guest post written by my friend who just launched her new blog yesterday.  Please go check it out!

Happy New Year!


One Response to “A New Year’s Meme”

  1. I remember so many of these!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
