I Throw Like a Girl

And we’re off…

Posted by Carol on January 16, 2009

By the time many of you read this, I will be on an airplane with my son, our first born child, flying (hence the airplane) to a far off land exactly 1,777 miles from home to deliver him back to college.

Sigh.

He was home for the fall semester because he thought he wanted to go to a school closer to home because he missed his us and his friends more than he thought he would. He had a few other reasons, also. While I was very happy to have him back under our roof for a while, I felt in my heart that it was probably best for him to return to the university where he started as a freshman in the fall of 2007.

Heck, I wish I could return to the university where he started as a freshman in the fall of 2007! They have a weekly cleaning service and dining halls with all-you-can-eat meals open all hours of the day and night. The recreation center puts most neighborhood gyms to shame. Which makes sense in light of the all-you-can-eat meals. That and the boatloads of money the parents send every semester.

Anyway, when we first dropped College Son off to said college 1 1/2 years ago, I was pretty much a basket case. I felt like someone had died. Hubs did his best to cheer me up. And eventually, we found a new normal at home even though 1/4 of us was missing.

This time, even though I will likely embarrass him when it is time for me to leave on Monday, I know he will be ok. He’s ready. He was ready 1 1/2 years ago.

I just needed more time for me to be ready.

6 Responses to “And we’re off…”

  1. Beverly said

    I hear ya! I’m thinking about getting another dog for company. Something tells me that’s not the same. ; )

  2. Dena said

    I totally relate to how you feel about needing more time. I loved having our girls back home over Christmas and all the noise and chaos they brought with them. It’s hard when they are determined to do what’s best for them, rather than whats easiest for us moms isn’t it? 🙂

  3. Enjoy every moment of this special time you have alone with College Son as you settle him in–once again! You are such a good mommy! Enjoy, too, some sweet peace and quiet on your 1,777 mile trip back home! love and prayers–Sylane

  4. Deidra said

    Last Sunday I put both of my heirs on airplanes headed to opposite coasts, and both more than 1,200 miles from my empty nest. It’s easier to do the leaving than it is to be left. I pray you are blessed and encouraged on your return flight home.

  5. I get it, Carol, I get it. I just sent my boy back last Sunday, and I was finally fine with it all. It just takes time for us to adjust, moreso than it does them, I’m sure.

  6. Diana said

    You know, I went to college 500 miles away from my family, met a guy and stayed. Here I still am 30 years later, still 500 miles away. My daughter went to college a couple of hours away, in the same state, and I’m happy. I encourage her not to come home every weekend and to have fun with her friends. However, I dread that she might find a nice guy get married and then I only see her once a year. (Sorry Mom – though to be fair I have 5 siblings a lot closer.)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
