I Throw Like a Girl

And then she assaulted my upper lip

Posted by Carol on January 23, 2009

I told myself I was not going to write about this – that it was not bloggable material. I’ve started this post about a dozen times in my head and then decided not to write it, but it’s the post that won’t go away. So I’m giving in to the power of the blog.

I went to get my eyebrows waxed the other day. I went to the salon I usually go to for my eyebrow waxing needs and the occaisional manicure and/or pedicure.

As I was lying on the waxing table, eyes closed, unsuspecting of what what about to happen, the wax lady assaulted my upper lip with hot wax.

I am half Italian, but I do own a mirror or two. If I were in need of a lip wax, I assure you I would have asked for one a long time ago.  But, apparently, the wax lady did not approve of the condition of my upper lip.

Of course, once the wax was on, it had to come off.  And with a rrrrrrrrriiiiip off it came along with whatever dignity my upper lip may have had.  You see, it was a trade off.  My offending “moustache” is gone, but I now have no less than 7 zits in its place.

Much more offensive than a moustache any day if you ask me. Sigh.

Thanks for listening. 🙂

7 Responses to “And then she assaulted my upper lip”

  1. Deidra said

    Oh my goodness! That very thing has happened to me. It was about fifteen years ago. And I ended up with a dozen zits and an inflamed upper lip (much worse than the mustache that really needed to go). A friend of mine took one look and said, “Beauty mishap, huh?” Eventually I discovered an over-the-counter cream that works well will no side effects. I’ve never had my lip waxed again!

  2. Pam M. said

    Holy cow, that is just SO WRONG!!!

    Being a somewhat hairy half Italian, I have often toyed with the idea of having my upper lip waxed….but not any more after this story. I’ll scan the aisles at CVS for a cream like Deidra mentioned instead. Sounds safer and less painful.

    Since you are half Italian, have you considered leaving a dead fish wrapped in a newspaper on the steps of this salon anytime soon?? 😀

  3. Dena said

    Oh my! That sounds horrible!

  4. Melanie said

    What a good laugh! Sorry but that was funny.
    Melanie@Bella~Mella

  5. OMG!!!!! What the heck?? I can’t believe they did that. Did they misunderstand you?

    I get mine waxed on occasion. I do break out a bit but it usually goes away. I should just use bleach, huh?

  6. Beverlydru said

    Well you can always find sympahry in blog land. Especially on the embarrassing stuff. We are a “tell all you can” culture. ; )

  7. Val said

    Ugh! That was totally uncalled for!

    I will tell you a little story to help you feel better…..

    My Mom was at the salon for an eyebrow waxing also. Only, the lady began to COVER HER FACE in wax! She told her that when women get older they have fine facial hair and that this would do the trick. Hah! And once it was started, the rest had to be done.

    For weeks, I asked her how the beard was coming 🙂

    Good point is….it worked. Nothing ever grew back. But still……permission anyone!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
