I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW ~ Keeping Your Salad Fresh

Posted by Carol on January 27, 2009

A few weeks ago, I posted a recipe for Spinach Salad with Maple-Dijon Vinaigrette.  I meant to include this tip with the recipe, but I must have gotten distracted by something shiny because I totally forgot all about it.

So, here’s what works for me. When you are putting your salad away in the refrigerator, whether you put it in Tupperware or cover it with plastic wrap or whathaveyou, lay a paper napkin or paper towel on top of the salad before you cover it. The paper will absorb excess moisture, keeping the lettuce crisp and fresh significantly longer (within reason) than without. You’ll see it works because the next time you take the salad out, the paper will be damp and limp, but the salad fresh and delicious.

This, of course, will not work if there is dressing on the salad, so unless you’re pretty sure the whole salad will be consumed by your family at one meal, don’t pour dressing on the whole salad, just the individual servings.

For more helpful hints, tune into Shannon’s blog, Rocks in my Dryer.

9 Responses to “WFMW ~ Keeping Your Salad Fresh”

  1. Somewhere, I had heard this before, but since forgotten it, so thanks because I’m going to do this the next time we have real vegetables!

  2. Merrie. said

    Great idea! I will do this b/c we eat LOTS of salads!

  3. Great tip! I will try this out today.

  4. Melanie said

    I had forgotten this, too. Thanks!
    Melanie@Bella~Mella

  5. Great tip!!!! It always bugs me when my lettuce leaves are not crisp so I almost never have it a second day.

  6. Rachel said

    Excellent tip! Thanks for sharing.

  7. Lisa said

    This is so great! I can’t wait to try it. Lisa~

  8. WEEBLE said

    I end up throwing out salad because we don’t finish it all at one meal! I need to try this!

  9. Great idea! I’ll try it.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
