I Throw Like a Girl

What I Learned this Week: I am very popular with the over 80 crowd.

Posted by Carol on February 2, 2009

At the chiropractors’ office where I work, the doctors treat patients of all ages from very little babies to octogenarians and beyond.  Today there seemed to be a few more seniors in our office than usual.  One older couple came in this morning.  The wife had an appointment at 11:00 and she decided to bring her husband who is a few months shy of his 90th birthday along for an appointment of his own. She just neglected to tell us this before their arrival.

We can usually accommodate walk-ins as long as they don’t mind waiting a little bit as we have to work around the scheduled appointments. Plus there are the pages of forms that need to be completed that will keep the patient busy for a few minutes while they wait. In this case, the wife appeared to be the expert on all things  paperwork.  While she went to work on her husband’s medical history and current conditions, her husband stood by my desk talking to me.

“Come sit down here and look at a magazine while I do your paperwork,” said his wife.

“No,” he answered, “I’d rather stay here and look at her.”

He is now tied with this guy as my favorite patient.

Visit Jo-Lynne at Musings of a Housewife to see what everyone else learned this week!

10 Responses to “What I Learned this Week: I am very popular with the over 80 crowd.”

  1. Kim said

    That is really really funny. Bless his heart. He still has it in him LOL.
    Blessings,
    Kim

  2. Goslyn said

    What a great story! I love visiting with men of the elder generation. They are always so sweet.

  3. Sarah said

    How fun! I love that age. They come out with the craziest comments that probably isn’t much different than when they were younger but they don’t seem to mind being heard!

    Have a great day!

  4. Kanoe said

    That is just way too sweet! I love how the over 60 crowd have no reserves!!!;)

  5. What a sweet gentleman. I’d be walking with my head a little higher after that compliment.

  6. What a riot!!! I love making friends with elderly ladies and gentlemen when I’m out and about. They don’t seem to be in a hurry and usually fawn over my kids. 🙂

  7. Jennifer said

    Awwwww….that’s so sweet.

  8. LOL!

    I am sure that made your day 🙂

  9. Terra said

    it is great to admired, no matter what age I guess eh?

  10. Alyce said

    That is so funny!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
