I Throw Like a Girl

What I Learned This Week ~ We’re Moving to Denver!

Posted by Carol on February 24, 2009

I was born in New York (Long Island to be exact), grew up in Connecticut, went to college for three years in Florida, got married, finished college in Illinois where my husband was a youth pastor; and in the subsequent years of our marriage, we have moved to Connecticut (again), Colorado, California, Florida (briefly), Virginia, and now have been in New Jersey for the past nine and a half years. Whew! And we’ve only been married 22 1/2  years.

In early January, my husband’s company had a reorganization.  The good news is that Hubby gets to keep his job. The not so good news is that he is being re-assigned to cover the Western half of the country. Since we live on the East coast, that poses a problem.

However, Hubby’s company had a solution to the problem. They said that they would move us to Dallas, Texas.

No offense to all you Texans out there, but I was not too thrilled with the idea of moving to the Lone Star State. (I was not too thrilled with the idea of moving anywhere after calling NJ home for so long) I even asked God if He were absolutely sure He really needed more Christians in the Bible belt. Plus, this Connecticut Yankee does not know the proper grammatical use of the word y’all.   After living in New Jersey for almost 10 years, I’m much more familiar with you’s guys.

Well, God must have done a re-count, because He decided that we are not moving to Dallas after all. It’s a very long and convoluted story, but we just found out last Thursday that we are moving to Denver, Colorado instead.

If you look up at the long list of states where we have already lived, you will see that we have lived in Colorado once before.  It was about 15 years ago when our kids were very small. We were there for 4 years. We  loved our church and our neighbors were our best friends. We made many wonderful memories there. When my husband’s company (different from the current one) moved us to California, I was heartbroken.

As hard as it is going to be to say goodbye to the many friends and neighbors we have here in NJ, I am so thankful that if we have to move it is to Denver. Here’s why –

Do you remember how sad I was that College Son left home and went to a college that was exactly 1777 miles away. Guess where that college is.

Colorado.

He even tried to transfer to a college closer to home, but it inexplicably (he’s a good student) did not work out. Now we know why.

My husband is one of five siblings.  Guess where he grew up and his mother and three of those siblings live.

Colorado.

I wrote a post not too long ago about how difficult last year was for me. I have been praying that God would do whatever it takes to work all those difficult things out and I know that this move is part of His plan for us – even if it had been to Dallas or anyplace else. He is in control and I only want to be where He leads us.

To see what everyone else has been learning this week, visit Jo-Lynne at Musings of a Housewife!

15 Responses to “What I Learned This Week ~ We’re Moving to Denver!”

  1. Pam M. said

    Oh. My. :0(

    I know, I know, I’m not supposed to be sad or negative. I sure know that God is in control. But I also know that I will miss you very much, Carol. Hey, it’s not like we have coffee once a week. But still…..NJ won’t be the same without you’s guys. But Denver will most certainly be blessed by….you’s guys? Ya’ll? Hmmmm, what DO they say out in Colorado anyway?

    I’m thankful for Facebook (ewww, did I just say that?) and for email. And your blog. They’ll help keep the separation anxiety to a minimum. Sigh.

  2. Well, Dallas will be sad to not have you coming here… but, man… I’d move to Denver in a heartbeat. Close to the mountains and all… Yeah, I like Denver. Best of luck to Y’ALL! (Hey, you got the punctuation right up there… that’s a first step!)

  3. Wow, Carol! What huge news! But it sounds like a great fit. And Colorado has always sounded like such a nice place to live!

  4. Beverly said

    That sounds very exciting. God is up to something good, for sure!

  5. First time at your lovely blog.

    God has wonderful plans for us – I am sure this is both daunting and exciting. I moved to England for a year with my husband’s job – we went with 2 kids, and came back with 3!!!

  6. Melanie said

    Wow. Sounds like God has been up to something on “you’s guy’s” behalf!

    Melanie@Bella~Mella

  7. Dena said

    I went to college in Colorado. LOVED the mountains. It really is a beautiful state. Congrats on being able to live closer to your son and other family!

  8. Kim said

    How cool that God works things out in the best possible way, even though it may not seem like it at the time. All the threads are coming together, aren’t they? I’m excited for you and pray for God’s peace for you during the tumultuous move ahead. My hubby’s brother is a pastor in Denver so we’ve gone out a few times. Love, love, love The Tattered Bookstore!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  9. Diana said

    You know, I live 500 miles away from my family (in NY & NJ) but my husband’s family is closer, so we see them for most of our gatherings. It sounds like a really cool thing for you to be able to connect with the other side of the family. This move might be a really good thing. 22 1/2 years is an great thing, not everyone is that lucky (although we know it’s not really luck.)

  10. Liz said

    That is very cool how God worked it all out.

  11. Alisha said

    Wow! That is so amazing how so many different pieces fell together like a perfect puzzle. God is truly great! I enjoyed reading your story and how things seem to be unfolding. 🙂

  12. Wow, that’s big stuff! Denver is lovely, of course. You’re blessed to be moving to one of the most beautiful places in the country!

  13. Val said

    I can’t believe how everything just worked out.
    That truly is awesome!

  14. Mel said

    I’m happy to hear that even though moving can be stressful that you are maintaining a positive attitude. How exciting that you will be nearer your son and closer to your husbands family. I pray that everything goes smoothly and you get settled right in!!

  15. Wow – what evidence that the Hand of the Lord is upon your family and this move! I will be praying for you as the Lord reminds me to. 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
