I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW ~ Best Of Edition ~ Keeping Your Eyeliner From Smearing

Posted by Carol on March 3, 2009

We Are THAT Family is hosting a “Best Of” edition of Works for me Wednesday.  This is my entry because this has been my most popular post so far. Forget the deep devotional posts or even the recipes. Nope, smeary eye liner must be a world-wide epidemic. This is just my attempt at making the world a more beautiful place – one eye liner smear at a time.

My helpful hint this week is a makeup trick that lets you  never have those dark raccoon circles under your eyes from your eyeliner smearing as the day goes on.  The reason your eyeliner smears is that it is made with wax.  Your body heat causes the wax to slowly melt, giving you those unsightly dark circles under your eyes.  Here’s what you need to do to avoid all that:

Get yourself an angled makeup brush and a dark color eyeshadow, such as brown.  Or just go with a color that you would normally choose in an eyeliner pencil.  Then use the angled brush to apply the eyeshadow along your lash line, just like you would with your eyeliner pencil. The brush I use is small with flat bristles and is kind of stiff.  I promise, it will not smear – unless, of course you rub your eyes.  It is also easier to wash off at the end of the day.  Here is a picture of some brushes that would work well.

Give it a try.  I think you’ll be happy with the results.

To see everyone’s Best Ever hints, check out Works for me Wednesday over at We Are THAT Family!

7 Responses to “WFMW ~ Best Of Edition ~ Keeping Your Eyeliner From Smearing”

  1. Carrie J said

    Great tip. I’ll have to try it. I don’t like wearing mascara so I always wear eyeliner. Thanks.

  2. Kaye said

    I just started using a brush about 2 months ago and LOVE it! And when you can get them for one $1, how can you turn that down?!

    Great tip!

  3. Thanks to the above poster for posting the link to the $1 brush. I may just have to get one and try it out. I got some great deals on Revlon eyeshadow at Walgreens (posting about that tomorrow)

    (visiting from WFMW)

  4. Melissa said

    Wow, I love this tip. My youngest has just started doing dance competitions and is required by her coach to wear eye make-up, but that eye pencil coming near her eyes totally freaks her out hopefully this will work better.

  5. Jamie said

    This is all you need for this problem and will change your life:

    http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P216625&categoryId=B70

    It’s Sephora’s “Tricks of the Trade” Eyeliner Last – a clear gel you brush over your eyeliner to seal it and keep it in place.

  6. I may have to give that a try. My eyeliner is very bad to smear and I already have an angled brush. Thanks for the tip.

  7. eyeslice said

    you could also try eyeslices to help reduce dark circles under eyes

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
