I Throw Like a Girl

Further Proof That Martha Really Doesn’t Live Here

Posted by Carol on March 6, 2009

Monday was Darling Daughter’s 17th birthday. I swear she was 5  just last week. I guess I blinked.

But anyway, in our family, when it’s your birthday, you get to pick what you want for dinner and, most importantly, what kind of birthday cake you would like.

For several years in a row now, Darling Daughter has decided that she’s just not that into cake.

I know!

So, for several years in a row now, she has chosen to have a giant chocolate chip cookie for her birthday celebration. In years past I have gone to the Big Cookie section of our grocer’s bakery and got a very pretty Big Birthday Cookie, but this year she decided she didn’t want all the flowers and frosting and fancy writing on her cookie. She just wanted a Big Cookie.

Well, I thought, if she doesn’t want all that fancy schmancy stuff on her Big Birthday Cookie, then I can make one myself and our grocer can just keep his Big Cookie this year.

Here’s how it came out:

laurens-17th-birthday-005

I’ll be taking orders via email. Don’t expect anything fancy.

6 Responses to “Further Proof That Martha Really Doesn’t Live Here”

  1. Liz said

    It looks delicious. Even if it isn’t cake.

  2. Melanie said

    Happy Birthday to your BEAUTIFUL daughter.
    We have the same arrangement for birthdays except it also includes choice of breakfast. But the meals are for the closet weekend to the actual birthday.

  3. Beverlydru said

    Wow. A beautiful cookie creation. A stunningly beautiful daughter. I joked I was going to lock our daughter in her room until she was 28 to keep her safe. Not so practical but a thought. ; )

  4. Dena said

    How fun! Happy birthday to your daughter. My twin girls have their birthdays next week and I bought those same candles. 🙂

  5. Mel said

    That looks absolutely delicious and I want a big glass of milk to go with it! I think I may skip cake this year and put in an order with you instead. Happy birthday to your daughter too by the way!!

  6. Alisha said

    That actually looks really good! Great job. 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
