I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Vegetable Soup

Posted by Carol on March 6, 2009

Early in February, I started back at Weight Watchers and in spite of two birthdays and Valentine’s Day, I have lost just over five pounds.  This recipe has been a tremendous help – it is filling, healthy and is a great way to get in the recommended 5 servings of fruits and veggies per day.  This is the famous Zero Points Soup Recipe from Weight Watchers.  Try it, I think you’ll like it.

Garden Vegetable Soup

  • 2/3 cup sliced carrot
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • 3 cups fat-free broth (beef, chicken, or vegetable)
  • 1 1/2 cup diced green cabbage (I’ve been using Napa cabbage)
  • 1/2 cup green beans
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup diced zucchini

Spray a large saucepan with non-stick cooking spray. Over low heat, saute the carrot, onion, and garlic until softened, about 5 minutes. Add broth, cabbage, beans, tomato paste, basil, oregano, and salt; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, covered about 15 minutes or until beans are tender. Stir in the zucchini and heat for 3-4 minutes. Serve hot.

Makes 4 servings at 0 points each. That is ZERO, none, nada, not one single point per delicious serving. Can you tell I love this soup?

Here is Mr. Linky. Please link your recipe here to share with all of Bloggsville. And please mention Saturday Stirrings in your post so your readers can find new recipes to try, too.

2 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Vegetable Soup”

  1. Beverlydru said

    WooHoo to your 5 pounds off! I’m inspired. That’s awesome. I laughed when I came over to link up and saw soup and weight watchers. We’re on the same page. : ) Did I tell you I love my Cheerios gift pack I won over here? I was impressed with the Caphalon loaf pan. I needed it.

  2. I love soup!
    My recipe is for my favorite crockpot roast. I guess I “invented” it but it’s now our favorite.
    I use chipotle peppers for a smokiness.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
