I Throw Like a Girl

If I thought last week was crazy, it’s a good thing I didn’t know what this week held.

Posted by Carol on March 27, 2009

All of you who read my blog (and I am very thankful to both of you) may have noticed that I haven’t posted much this week. I have been pretty quiet on Facebook and Twitter, too. And in real life. This week has been one that has caused me to stop in my tracks, focus on God and (re)evaluate.

Monday morning I received a phone call telling me of the sudden, unexpected death of our dear friend, Alvin. He was a wonderful husband, devoted father of four children, and a shining example of a Christian man. Tonight is his wake and the Celebration of Life service is tomorrow morning.

Alvin personally had a huge impact on my family just through his friendship.  As the friend who called me with the news of his death put it,  Alvin had “a heart and a love for Jesus Christ which seeped into everything he did and blessed everyone whose lives he touched.” He loved Jesus, he loved his family, and he loved his neighbors as himself. Only now that he is in Heaven can he possibly know the impact he had on the lives he touched through his contagious smile, dedication to the Men’s Ministry at church, and his love for Jesus and others.

Our hearts hurt for missing Alvin and thinking of the hole left in the hearts of his family: His wife, three daughters who won’t have their daddy to walk them down the aisle at their weddings, and his son who lost a godly friend and role model.

For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. 2 Corinthians 4:17-18

We don’t understand why God took Alvin home at such a young age. But we do know this, God doesn’t make mistakes and our troubles and pain here on earth are light and momentary in comparison to the glory that Alvin is experiencing in Heaven.

************************

I know, you never know what you’re gonna get when you read my blog. Sometimes it’s a recipe or a song, sometimes it’s a goofy story, and sometimes I hit you with a whammy like this one. But thank you for reading anyway and thank you for your prayers for Alvin’s family.

4 Responses to “If I thought last week was crazy, it’s a good thing I didn’t know what this week held.”

  1. Kim said

    These losses are hard. But what a wonderful testimony he had, and what a legacy he left in the lives of those he touched. Praying for his family and the adjustments they face. May God grant grace… abundant and overflowing to comfort and sustain.

  2. Diane said

    Carol, I’m so sorry for the loss of your friend. I pray that you can feel the Lord’s strength as you grieve and encourage the family. Bless you.

  3. Sorry for your loss, Carol.

  4. Beverlydru said

    Thank you for that scripture. I have been stunned this week too. A good friend’s daughter who is my age was killed on her way to work. So sudden. Right up the road. Such a blow to the hearts of many. I’m glad we’re pilgrims here… my favorite song today is “Finally Home” by Mercy Me.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
