I Throw Like a Girl

The Open House

Posted by Carol on April 26, 2009

Back in February I wrote that we are moving to Denver due to my husband’s job.  That means that we will be attempting to sell the home that we have lived in longer than any other home in the history of our almost 23 year marriage.

In preparation for the big move to Denver, I have been very busy cleaning out closets, reorganizing cupboards, sorting clothes, paring down, hiring repairmen, hiring painters, interviewing real estate agents, traveling to Denver, working part-time , and oh yeah, still doing all the other things that moms have to do everyday.

In the two weeks that our house has been on the market, we have had exactly zero, zip, nada, none, no showings.

Today our real estate agent hosted an open house.  All day yesterday, in preparation, we putzed around the house doing yard work, spring cleaning, and finishing little jobs that would have needed to be done whether or not our house was for sale.

The open house was from 1-4:00 today and do you know how many people we had come through?

Zero, zip, nada, none.

Although someone did track some dirt from their shoes in the front door and up my stairs, but I suspect that was the real estate agent taking a look around the place.

And do you know how stressed out I am about the fact that we are trying to move to Denver by the end of June and still have not found a house there and have no prospects for getting our house sold here?

Zero, zip, nada, not at all.

3 Responses to “The Open House”

  1. Beverlydru said

    Okay. it’s time to call in the prayer warriors and we are here. I will expect God to do something amazing to comfort & encourage you this very day as He goes before you in ways yet unseen.

  2. Wow. I know that I would be stressing out big time. But God is in control, that’s for sure! One of my favorite sayings about faith is: faith is knowing that God is the Lord of time, even when my idea of timing doesn’t agree with His. All in His time!

  3. Kim said

    Hang in there Carol! I could share stories of friends whose homes sold in a week, others it took months, but in each situation the timing was perfect. It’s just so hard because we don’t see everything going on. Praying for you!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
