I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW ~ Deodorant, it’s just a suggestion.

Posted by Carol on April 29, 2009

Now that the weather is getting warmer here in Bloggsville, USA, many of us are doing what we can to stay cool and dry. For most, that includes the wearing of deodorant.

If deodorant isn’t included in your plan to stay dry and cool, you may want to rethink that.

I’m just sayin’.

One of the biggest problems with deodorant is the white streaks it leaves on your clothes.  You may have tried some of the newer versions that are supposedly clear and streak free, but if you don’t want to switch brands just because of the white streak situation, here’s something that Works for Me.

Are you ready for this? It’s really earth shattering information I’m about to share with you.  Hold on to your hats…

Put your deodorant on after you put your clothes on.  If your outfit is sleeveless, attack those pits through the sleeve hole.  If you have sleeves, come up from under your top.  It really works.

While we’re on the subject of deodorant,  I need to add my 2 cents about scents.  (Pun intended)

Why, oh why, do women spend lots of their hard earned money on perfume and/or scented lotions just to have it compete with the smell of their deodorant?

Who wants to smell like “powder fresh” or “spring rain” or “cool wave” when you’re wearing Estee Lauder’s Beautiful or Clinique’s Happy? Put the combo of scents together with your shampoo, hair products, and lotions and it’s enough to knock over anyone with a sensitive olfactory system within 50 feet.

That’s why I vote for unscented deodorant.  I am one of those with a sensitive nose. While I love perfume, I have to be careful to only pick very light scents.  If I’ve got too much smell going on, I get a headache or nauseated.  So if I have to choose between my Calvin Klein’s Escape or “Natural Sport Scent”, Calvin’s going to win every time.

For much more useful helpful hints than this one, check out  We are THAT Family.

Now, go forth and smell nice!

(Originally posted on 7/08)

2 Responses to “WFMW ~ Deodorant, it’s just a suggestion.”

  1. Jessica said

    I opt for only scented deo and do away with wearing perfume. If you want to remove deo stains (or pit stains) from your shirts, spray some undiluted vinegar on the spots before washing. It really does work!

  2. Storm said

    I have always put my deodorant on after I put on my shirt. : )

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
