I Throw Like a Girl

Uhm, I guess I spoke too soon (again)

Posted by Carol on May 13, 2009

Well, in my last post I mentioned that we had found a home in Colorado. We made an offer, it was accepted.

On Monday the home inspection was done, no major problems there.

Also, on Monday, the appraisal was done.

Major problem there.

The appraisal came in much, much lower that the agreed upon price and now the homeowners have to decide if they are willing to sell the house for the much lower price. They may well decide to sell anyway because they have been transferred out of state. Or they may decide not to sell at all. It’s up to them.  We have been told that even if we or they got another appraisal it probably wouldn’t change much. The market is what the market is.

We just got this news late yesterday afternoon and are waiting to hear what the homeowners want to do. So we may have a house. Or not.

On the NJ home front – we have accepted an offer on our house. It’s a very fair offer and we are happy with it. However, I’m not counting my chickens before they’re hatched here either.  While the people who have made the offer seem perfectly nice, they are also very nervous about every step in the process so far (perhaps they are first time buyers). The home inspection is this weekend and although we plan on being very cooperative, I fear they may be skiddish if something unusual pops up.  The house is 33 years old, so I’m sure something will pop up.

In the grand scheme of things, there are a lot worse things in life. I am trying not to sweat it all too much. God is in control and it is good for my impatient self to have to wait on things that are out of my control.

In the meantime, the septic system work is scheduled to begin tomorrow. So stay tuned for riveting pictures of bulldozers, mud, and who knows what else may be involved in installing a new septic system.

2 Responses to “Uhm, I guess I spoke too soon (again)”

  1. Linda said

    I sure hope it works out for you. but I love the sereneness in your “voice” which comes from your faith.

  2. misty said

    house stuff, in any economy, is so stressful but in this one it really is something…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
