I Throw Like a Girl

Peonies, Peonies, Peonies, and Tequila

Posted by Carol on June 1, 2009

All over Bloggsville, I see pictures of peonies. It’s that wonderful time of year when peonies are blooming all across the country and folks are more than happy to share them on the internet.

So, what kind of blogger would I be if I, too, did not share my peonies with you? I only wish I could share their scent with you.

Heavenly.

Peonies and ducks 003

These peonies live in our backyard on the opposite side from where our new septic system was installed. It’s like a whole separate world on the peony side of the backyard. Things are actually still green and colorful. Not brown and dead.

I like the peony side of the yard the best.

Peonies and ducks 005

We have light pink peonies.

Peonies and ducks 004

And dark pink peonies.

Peonies and ducks 009

And today, I picked a little of each.

Peonies and ducks 010No, this is not a giant toothbrush holder. This is a vase from Southern Living at Home.

Peonies and ducks 011It helps decorating-challenged people like me be able to make beautiful flower arrangements. See that hole-y piece on my counter? It is called a “frog”. Don’t ask me why because I don’t know. I’m not sure anyone does. Despite its very strange name, I love it.

Peonies and ducks 012Here’s why I love that frog. It makes me look like Martha Stewart.

Darling Daughter made a peony arrangement of her own. Only she didn’t use a frog for hers.

Peonies and ducks 013She used an empty tequila bottle.

I promise, she didn’t drink it.

But, I know who did.

3 Responses to “Peonies, Peonies, Peonies, and Tequila”

  1. Jenny said

    Very pretty pics of your peonies. Laughing at the tequila bottle.

  2. Mel said

    Those flowers are gorgeous and I love the arrangements. Too funny about the tequila bottle. You should have invited me over!

  3. kimberlyhoyt said

    I’m guessing the septic saga led to the bottle being empty and therefore usable as a vase? LOL

    Pretty sure I’d like the peony side of the backyard too. Hopefully the grass will grow greener than ever over the septic field 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
