I Throw Like a Girl

It’s a Small World After All…

Posted by Carol on July 19, 2009

I need everyone reading this post to start humming that tune now. You know the one. The obnoxious song from Disney World that will stay stuck in your head all day once you start.

I’ll wait til you’re all in unison…

Sounds great!

Ok, now I can begin my story.

We’ve known since around January that my husband’s company was going to move us West. At first, they wanted to move us to Dallas, Texas. But, once Dear Hubby found out that he could possibly do his job from Denver, Colorado, he campaigned hard with his boss for that to happen. He grew up in Colorado and we have a lot of family and friends here, which made Denver a much more attractive choice for us than Dallas.

Back in New Jersey, for most of the 10 years we lived there, we attended the same church. Our kids went to Sunday School and Youth Group, and Hubs and I were involved in the Married with Children (not the official name) adult Sunday School class. I was also very involved with the Women’s Ministry at church. One of the benefits of being involved with Women’s Ministry is getting to know many of the women at church.

(Keep humming)

Now re-wind to a little over a year ago. We were still in New Jersey and the women of our church were away for the weekend at our annual retreat. I was (wo)manning the welcome table, greeting the women as they arrived. At a particularly slow time at the table, one woman (we’ll call her K) and I got talking. She shared with me that she and her family were moving to Colorado that summer. We discussed her move at length and she told me the area of Colorado they were considering. I was familiar with it because a) we have lots of family in CO, and b) we used to live there ourselves years ago.

I told K that my husband would be very jealous that they were getting to move to Colorado because it had always been a dream of his to get back there some day.

A few months went by, they moved West. K and I became Facebook friends and I was able to stay in touch with her that way. Through Facebook, I knew what town they had moved to, and what high school her kids attended.

Now, fast forward our story to this 4th of July weekend. We had just closed on our new home in Colorado and moved in on July 2nd. Apparently, our new neighborhood has a 4th of July party every year. This year, it was held on July 5th (go figure).

Being new here, we thought it would be a great opportunity to meet our new neighbors very quickly. So on July 5th, we marched ourselves right on over to the party, where approximately 60-70 of our soon-to-be closest friends were attending.

Hubby and I were chatting with several people when around the corner we spotted a very familiar couple walking to the party. We looked at them curiously, and they were looking at us with the same curiosity. All of a sudden the collective light bulbs in our heads went on when we all realized who each other were.

It was K and her husband from New Jersey! Not only do they live in our new neighborhood, but they live right across the street from us!

(Keep humming)

Like I said, I knew the town they had moved to and I knew their children’s school, but I did not know their street address. What are the chances that with the thousands of people who live in this town and school district that we would end up across the street from the only other people I know from New Jersey?!

And our former church?!

It IS a small world after all!!

(You can stop humming now)

(Thank you)

9 Responses to “It’s a Small World After All…”

  1. Melanie said

    What a blessing!
    Melanie@Bella~Mella

  2. Mel said

    That is awesome! God works in mysterious ways doesn’t he? Have fun with your new friends.

  3. Linda said

    This is so exciting, and I am thrilled for you. I am constantly amazed at our Awesome God, Who cares about details like friendships, and cares about the heart of women the way He does. What a gift and blessing, Carol. Now, can you tell me how to get this stinkin’ song out of my head?!?!?!?!

  4. Kim said

    Very cool! Most likely K has already scoped out and found all the professionals you need when you move…hair stylist, doctor, dentist, someone who does home repairs… And hopefully she’ll be nice and share that list with you 🙂

  5. Merrie said

    WOW… What a neat story! That is really a “Godincidence”! I would say that He orchestrated it! The hardest part of moving for me is always finding good Christian friends. (especially in the ministry! Lol)

  6. Carol!!!! That is so absolutely fabulous for you!! Our God is so generous! Give K a big hug (two-arms required!)from me!
    love you bunches,
    Sylane

  7. Beverly said

    What a wonderful thing to feel welcome and have friends so quickly. I haven’t moved much and it’s a hard thing for me.

  8. Chris K said

    Nothing is too big or small for our GOD!!!

    “All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be” Psalm 139

    He knew it all along! What a gift from God for you!

    P.O. How bout pics of the new home?

  9. RockyMomma said

    Hi, Carol. It’s a small world afterall…I am still singing…Anyway, I just wanted to say, “HI!” and “Welcome to Colorado!” If you look at the top of my blog, you will see that we have a similar view. Isn’t it beautiful? Anyway, I am a friend of FiddleDeeDee’s from Armpit, FL. And I saw your link on her post today. Let me know if I can help you find anything.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
