I Throw Like a Girl

What I want to be when I grow up…

Posted by Carol on August 26, 2009

I just took a quiz on Facebook that says I should be a Prime Minister. Hmmm…I suppose that means I need to leave the country since we don’t have a Prime Minister here. I think I will choose a tropical island nation to rule. But I think I prefer the title of Queen instead of Prime Minister.

How hard could it be? I mean, the quiz asked me things like what my favorite color and numbers were.  If liking the color green and the number 7 qualify me to rule a nation, what am I doing here at this popsicle stand? I probably will also need to choose a cabinet of advisors. Any volunteers? I’ll take you into consideration even if you don’t like the color green.

Since it might take me a while to find a tropical island nation willing to give me a chance, I need to figure out what I want to do in the meantime here in Colorado, USA.

For a while, I considered trying to get back into pharmaceutical sales. Then I remembered how much I hated that job. I think that kind of rules pharmaceutical sales out. Not hating the job is an important quality an employer is probably looking for in a candidate. 

So, that leaves something that I have been thinking about for a very long time. Real Estate.  I have actually been thinking about this from the time my kids were pre-schoolers (now they are old – one in college and the other in high school). I am on the verge of being an empty nester and until now, I have never felt the time was right for me to attempt to build a real estate career. One reason was all of our own moves. It didn’t make sense to try to get a license in one state, knowing that at any time, we could be asked to move to another. But now that we are in Colorado, it would take an act of God to get us to move out. As my husband says, he is “dug in like an Alabama tick”.

Yet it is my own experience both buying and selling more than our fair share of homes that has me interested in helping others through the process.

I have to decide what I want to do about this soon. The next round of classes starts mid-September. They are four weeks long and are not inexpensive. I know the market is slow right now, but there are signs that show it may be beginning to turn around. Plus, I’d rather learn in a slow market, than one that is going crazy. 

But I’m still open to ruling a tropical island. Any takers?

2 Responses to “What I want to be when I grow up…”

  1. Kim said

    I say go for it! It’s important to find something you enjoy doing, have a passion for, and then pursue it. Not hating a job isn’t enough. You need to really love it! And with your experience, you’d be a natural 🙂 Every field has “down” times; maybe those are the best times to jump in… you can ease your way into it.

    P.S. I’ve always been interested in real estate too, but for the wrong reasons — I’m just nosy and like to see inside other people’s houses. LOL

  2. Hello, Love! Oh, Carol, if this peaks your interest and enthusiasm–Knock Yourself Out…and Go For It!!
    You are so experienced and so sensitive to people’s needs that you would be great! Another avenue would be to get into the Relocation business to help the whole process of the moves families make…as you know all about!
    I love you and miss you! And BTW: I’m still looking forward to you booking some TBG conferences and outreaches out in your beautiful CO!
    my love, hugs and prayers always through our Lord Jesus Christ,
    Sylane

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
