I Throw Like a Girl

Writer’s Block

Posted by Carol on October 17, 2009

Recently a very sweet friend on Facebook asked me why I haven’t posted anything on my blog lately. She actually said she missed me! It warmed my heart to know that at least one person in the blogosphere missed my ramblings on I Throw Like a Girl!

I got back to her and told her there were 3 very good reasons why I haven’t been writing much. One reason was that I just finished 3 1/2 weeks of full-time real estate school (which included full-time homework when I got home each day). 

The second reason is that College Son’s laptop is broken, so I let him take mine to college over two hours away, leaving me to fight for the use of our home computer with Darling Daughter who is taking classes at the local community college. Somehow college work takes priority over blogging.

Go figure. 

But the third and probably biggest reason that I haven’t written much lately is writer’s block. I usually have a whole bunch of ideas swirling around in my head about which to write, but lately, not so much.

I actually do have an idea for a new post, but I need my laptop for it because all my pictures from NJ are on it and the post needs those pictures from NJ or it won’t make much sense.

Another one of my Facebook “friends” (I use quotes because he doesn’t know who I am IRL – I read his blog, so I “friended” him) is a true, honest-to goodness writer. He has a book being published and everything. Anyway, he recently wrote about writer’s block. His advice was that when you have writer’s block, you should just write about it. 

So, here I am.

Writing about it.

Hmmmm….

So far, that’s all I got. 

Oh well, I guess I’ll just update you as to how life has been since we moved to Colorado in June.

For some reason I feel compelled to number my points. 

1. Colorado is great! For the first time in many years we live close enough to family to see them on a regular basis and I love it. Almost every weekend, we have a house-full of nieces and nephews and cousins running around. Priceless….

2. Colorado is great! But I still miss New Jersey. I miss my church, I miss my friends, I miss the familiarity of it all. I loved the fact that almost everywhere I went, I would run into someone I know. Here, not so much. Yet.

3. Colorado has given us a new hobby. My husband went crazy and bought some dirt bikes. He got me a four-wheeler because he knows how I fare on two wheels.  So far, this has only led to one trip to the emergency room and it wasn’t me! I suppose I could write a whole post about that, but I wasn’t there when the accident happened and the story really is very anti-climactic. 

4. Speaking of broken laptops, if you have one, I highly recommend NOT taking it to the blue and yellow store with a Squad who promises to fix it. $250 plus dollars later, the laptop is still unusable. It has a new hard-drive, and a wiped memory, but no internet capability or a backspace key. Grrrr….

5. As you may have already gathered, I am working on getting my Real Estate license. This is something I have wanted to do since my kids were little. I even went to a real estate career seminar once way back when my kids were about 2 and 5 years old. (Now they are 17 and 20 years old). The speaker started the meeting by saying, “If you are ready to work hard 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, you can have a successful real estate career”. At that point, I stood up and walked out. I think I may even have said, “See ya!” as I left.  Looking back, I think the speaker was trying to weed out people like me from the crowd. In my research, I found out it is possible to have a successful real estate career and still have a family and personal life. I’m going to give it a try anyway. I am almost an empty-nester, so I’m ready to find something to do with the next phase of my life.

That’s all for now folks! I’ll do my best to be back here more often with the high quality of ramblings you have come to expect from me.

See ya!

2 Responses to “Writer’s Block”

  1. Kim said

    Welcome back Carol! More than one person missed you 🙂

    I’ve always been interested in real estate too. (But more on the construction side. My husband had a contractor’s license and we built a few spec houses when we still lived in the U.S.) I’ll look forward to the inevitable anecdotes that come with such an interesting profession!

    So sad about the computer! I don’t know what we’d do without our son, the I.T. guy. Unless it’s hardware related he can fix it via long distance. And we’ve found a pretty reliable guy here that can do PCs (which is what my husband has) but we have to take mine (a Mac) into Cordoba. Thankfully Macs are much more reliable and need little maintenance!

    Writer’s block strikes us all at times. Don’t worry. It’ll come to you… and you’ll start viewing just about everything that happens or that you see through the “ooooh, that would make an interesting blog post” lens. lol

  2. Beverlydru said

    Hi Carol! I like staying in touch and understand about the adjustments of moving. You don’t even want to know how long it took me to adjust when we just moved across the state!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
