I Throw Like a Girl

Walking

Posted by Carol on December 5, 2009

I had the opportunity to go to the movies by myself today. I know some people feel weird going to the movies alone, but I kind of enjoy it. When you’re with someone else, by the time the movie starts, you’re not supposed to be talking  anyway. Unless you can’t afford to buy popcorn. Then, talk away and pretty soon everyone will be sharing throwing their popcorn with at you.

I went to see The Blind Side starring Sandra Bullock. It is the true story of professional football player, Michael Oher. I read an interview with Sandra about making the movie. She got to sit down with the wealthy white woman whose family took in Michael as a homeless teenager.

In her interview, Sandra said that meeting Michael’s “mother” restored her faith in people who claim to be Christians. She said it was nice to meet someone who actually “walked the walk” instead of just being all talk.

While I don’t think God is calling me to bring a stranger into my home, I do think He would like me to ask myself, “Am I walking the walk, or am I all talk?”

Do I only walk where I feel it’s “safe” to walk? Am I the same around my Christian friends that I am around my family? Am I the same when I’m at work as I am at church?

Are there 2 Carol’s that the world sees or am I a reflection of the One whose name I claim to follow?

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
