I Throw Like a Girl

Why Real Estate? Why Now?

Posted by Carol on December 8, 2009

The other day, I was at my real estate office and one of the commercial agents asked me and another newbie, “Why are you getting into real estate NOW?”

“Because we’re crazy!” I answered.

I think the question came more from his own frustration with the market than from his concern for our sanity. But once I got him to smile, I explained that it was just the right time in my life to start a new career and I’d rather start while the market is slow, so I have time to learn to do things the right way, one transaction at a time, rather than when the market is going crazy and I feel like I’m drowning from lack of experience.

Real estate is something I’ve been interested in for a long time. About 15 years ago, when my kids were still very young, I attended a real estate career seminar offered at a local office. I don’t remember too much about the meeting except that the room was packed (it was the mid ’90’s and the real estate market was booming). The man leading the seminar said something like, “if you are willing to work hard 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, you will have a successful career in real estate”.

At that point my desire to remain a stay-at-home mom very involved in her kids lives kicked in big time. I stood up, made my way through the crowd and walked out. I think I remember the speaker looking at me like I had two heads as I waved goodbye.

However, I remained very interested in real estate.

And here we are today. I am a few months away from being an empty nester, we just moved to a new state, and I need a job. The timing is right for me to start a new career.

And yet, the move to real estate still almost didn’t happen.

To be continued…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
