I Throw Like a Girl

Why Real Estate? Why Now? Part Deux

Posted by Carol on December 10, 2009

(To read part 1, click here.)

So far, I am really loving real estate. I realize it is early in the game, but I am enjoying every part of it. I even enjoyed my real estate licensing class.

It felt so good to learn something new, and actually pass the tests. It made me feel better about the days I worry about early Alzheimers because I can’t find my keys.

And now that I’ve joined an office and am going through their training, I realize that this is a career that I can’t image ever being bored with. Burnt out, possibly, but bored? No.

And I get bored very easily.  The only “thing” that has been able to keep my attention for any length of time is my husband. He is definitely NOT boring! Anyone who knows him IRL can verify this for me!

In real estate, there is always something to learn and no two transactions are alike.

However, as I mentioned in my last post, in spite of “thinking” about it for about 15 years, I still almost chose not to try a career in real estate.

Earlier this year when I knew we would be moving to Colorado, I decided that a new move would be a good time for me to make a career change. I my past lives, I have been a teacher, a pharmaceutical sales rep, a pet sitter, a stay at home mom, and an office manager. I knew that when we got to Colorado that I didn’t want to continue any of those careers.

Well, except for stay at home mom, but I soon will be involuntarily retired from that when when Darling Daughter goes off to college next year.

Knowing there was not much I could do from New Jersey to start my real estate career in Colorado until we moved, I decided it was a good time to do some research. I bought several books about real estate careers. One may or may not have been a “Dummies” book.

I really liked everything I read about the “business” of real estate, yet, something didn’t sit right with me when it came to how the authors recommended prospecting for new clients, and dealing with the clients they did have.

The advice seemed condescending and disrespectful to their clients. And as for prospecting, as they say in Jersey, Faggettabouttit!

Let me tell you something about me. I am a very nice person. However, if you are a telemarketer and you call my house, one of two things will happen.

  • I will either screen your call on caller ID and just not answer (but if you keep calling I will eventually answer because I will be so angry).
  • I will answer the phone and tell you to never call me again and then hang up on you.

Recently, one company kept calling and I got so tired of hearing their message on my answering machine that the next time they called I asked them if they were familiar with the consequences of calling someone on the “do not call” list. They stopped.

If you are my friend calling me and every time we talk you are either trying to sell me something or ask me for a referral, I will simply stop taking your calls.

Yet, this (cold calling and bugging your friends and family) is what most real estate “experts” recommend for finding new clients. Add door knocking (blech) and other equally unpalatable ideas and I’m out. Sadly, I resigned myself to the fact that as interested in real estate that I was, I could not in good conscience do what the experts said I had to do to be successful in real estate.  And I’m not in this to fail. So, I guessed that a career in real estate wasn’t for me after all.

Fast forward a few months and we’re all moved in our new home in Colorado. Our real estate agent is also a personal friend and we become Facebook friends. One day, L, our agent posted a link on her page to an article written by Jennifer Allan, real estate agent, author, trainer, and speaker, about (not) asking for referrals. I clicked the link, read the article and a light bulb went off in my head.

There was someone out there who feels the same way I do and yet is successful in real estate. It can be done! Her book, Sell With Soul advocates attracting business to you by being competent and caring about your clients more than your paycheck.

What a concept!

The subtitle of her book is what sold me: “Creating an Extraordinary Career in Real Estate with Losing Your Friends, Your Principles, or Your Self-Respect”.

That was exactly what I was looking to do! My hope in a real estate career was restored and I signed up for my licensing class.  And the rest, as they say, is (recent) history!

One Response to “Why Real Estate? Why Now? Part Deux”

  1. Kim said

    Sounds like you and real estate are a good fit 🙂 I enjoy looking at houses (I’m excessively nosey like that) but not sure I’d like the business-end of real estate. And living overseas it’s a moot point anyway. Glad you’re enjoying it!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
