Saturday Stirrings ~ Sugar Cookies

Saturday Stirrings will be a little delayed this weekend due to…uhm…rain, yeah, that’s it. There is a rain delay for Saturday Stirrings!

I’ll have my recipe posted sometime (but not too early) tomorrow morning.

Thank you for your patience. 

Edited to add: Ok, my recipe is finally ready.  Dear Daughter and her friend made these sugar cookies around midnight last night.  I’d like to say my “rain delay” was because I was waiting for them to finish the cookies, but no.  The truth is I am lucky they made these cookies and they came out so well because I was too exhausted to think of a recipe on my own last night. 

Sugar Cookies

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup margarine or butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract (optional – we didn’t have any and the cookies came out delish)
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour (can use whole wheat)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • Granulated sugar or sprinkles

Mix powdered sugar, margarine, egg, vanilla, and almond extract (if using).  Mix in flour, baking soda and cream of tartar.  If you are going to cut these into shapes, then cover and refridgerate at least 2 hours. Roll dough to 3/16 in thick on a floured board and cut into shapes.  If not you can drop them by the spoonful onto an ungreased baking sheet, sprinkle with sugar or sprinkles,  and bake at 375 degrees for 8 minutes.  Makes about 5 dozen.

Here is Mr. Linky for your posting pleasure. You know what to do!

 

2 thoughts on “Saturday Stirrings ~ Sugar Cookies

  1. Carol, it’s most likely your crockpot. You have to make a few recipes with it to know if it cooks too hot. Which is sounds like yours does.

    I have a WestBend Versatility, which is not your standard crockpot. The low setting on mine is actually not hot enough and takes 2+ hrs longer. but it also has a medium setting, so I use that a lot.

    So, I would suggest shortening your cooking time when using rice (or pasta or potatoes). hope this helps!

Comments are closed.