Door To Door Organics

I have always heard that organic fruits and veggies were better for you than conventional produce. The pesticides and chemical fertilizers used were cancer hazards. And then add GMO’s to the mix, and eating produce was a potential mine field for your health.

Yeah, I had heard all that, but didn’t pay much attention. The whole thing was very overwhelming to me and once in a while I would stumble across an article that would say it didn’t really make that much of a difference.  That would calm my worries for a time.

But every so often, I’d get a nagging feeling that there really was something to the idea that organic fruits and veggies were better for my family. You could say I had just enough information to be dangerous. I didn’t really know what I was looking for, yet didn’t know what I didn’t know.

One day, I drove past an organic farm not too far from our house in New Jersey. I saw that the farmer had set up a stand and was selling ears of organic corn.  Organic or not, farm stand corn is one of the joys of summer. I slammed on my brakes, tires squealing, and did a u-turn Miami Vice-style and pulled up to the stand.  I bought a dozen ears of the organic farm stand corn, feeling very proud of myself for my healthy, yet delicious find.

You can imagine my disappointment when I grabbed the first ear to husk for dinner and discovered a little tiny worm had helped himself to some of the corn. I tried the second, third, fourth ear and sure enough, each had its own little visitor. All twelve of my organic ears of corn had worms still aboard when I brought them home.

I am not scared of spiders or most other insects. However, the ONE creepy crawly that gives me the heebie geebies is the lowly worm. I HATE worms and caterpillars. I’m not too fond of butterflies, either,  because they used to be caterpillars.

I’ll pass on the organic worms and take an extra helping of chemicals, please.

That experience killed any interest I had in organic produce. If eating organic meant I had to deal with bugs in my food, I’ll take my chances.  Thankyouverymuch.

While I felt organic veggies were dead to me, I still had an interest in healthy eating and I recently read two books that have changed the way I think about food.  They are “Real Food” by Nina Planck and “In Defense of Food” by Michael Pollan. I don’t want to get into the books here, but the gist of both of them is that organic is the bare minimum standard for our fruits, veggies, and meat to maintain our health.

So, I’ve bitten the worm bullet and given organic fruits and vegetables another chance.

And, as luck would have it, I recently discovered a cool company to help me in my organic pursuits.  It is Door To Door Organics. Every week, they deliver a box full of organic produce right to my front door. I get to choose the size of the box as well as the contents. I haven’t done a head to head comparision between Door To Door and my local grocery store or Whole Foods, but someone else did.  The results were that the same produce bought at Whole Foods were more expensive and the variety was better through Door To Door.  Since my local King Soopers has a miniscule organic section, Door To Door is the clear winner there, too.

And, so far, no insects.  Bonus!

Door to Door Organics did not ask me to write this post. I use them and enjoy their service and I wanted to share it with you here for Works For Me Wednesday.

Door to Door Organics is available in several locations around the country. Check the website to see if they will deliver to you!

One thought on “Door To Door Organics

  1. I am going to have to check them out. Our local grocery store does have some organics, but it is not nearly the selection I would like. I need to plant a bigger garden next year 🙂

    I do have to mention that the Google Ad that is currently showing in your post is propaganda from the corn industry touting that high fructose corn syrup is just another form of sugar. Um no it isn’t. I am a dietitian and high fructose corn syrup is metabolized in the body differently and many studies have linked it to the rise in diabetes in this country.

    Sorry to rant since I know you don’t have control over what Google ads are shown, but the ad seems to go against the spirit of your post – which is to eat healthier.

Comments are closed.