Saturday Stirrings ~ Goodness Gracious Great Balls of Spinach (appetizer)

I am writing this post on Thursday night because on Friday night when I would normally be writing my Saturday Stirrings post, we are expecting about 15 people over for a little holiday get together. I think it might be a tad rude of me to excuse myself from the festivities to go write a blog post.  So here we have it, Saturday Stirrings written on a Thursday brought to you through the magic of auto-post.

Now I have to confess I did already post this recipe for BooMama’s Christmas Tour of Homes, but they are so good I feel they need a Saturday Stirrings post all their own.  I am serving these Spinach Ball Appetizers on Friday night which will be last night by the time you are reading this.

Also, I need to let you know that Saturday Stirrings will be taking a holiday break next weekend to celebrate Christmas.  It will be back at its regularly scheduled time and location on January 3rd, 2009.

Spinach Balls

  • 10 ounce package frozen chopped spinach (without this, we would have to think of another name for this appetizer)
  • 1 cup seasoned stuffing mix (not the cubed kind, that goes against the idea of being round like a ball)
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese (spell check insisted I capitalize that – not sure why)
  • 3 eggs beaten (because leaving the shells on is too hard on your gums)
  • 6 tablespoons soft butter (please do not use margarine, trust me on this one)

Cook the spinach and drain well.

Combine all the ingredients together and roll into walnut sized balls (but do not add any actual walnuts to this recipe – you will not be happy) and freeze on a cookie sheet. Once frozen they can be transferred to a freezer bag. Keep frozen until just before serving. Cook them on a cookie sheet for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. Serve warm.

Now here’s Mr. Linky.  You know what do!

Merry Christmas!

3 thoughts on “Saturday Stirrings ~ Goodness Gracious Great Balls of Spinach (appetizer)

  1. I’m going to have to take time and figure out the auto-post thing!

    I like spinach in just about any form 🙂 Not sure about being able to buy the stuffing mix, but I’m gonna try! This sounds very yummy!

    Have a Very Merry Christmas!

Comments are closed.