Saturday Stirrings ~ Spinach Salad with Maple-Dijon Vinaigrette

Last week, I posted a recipe for Graham Cracker Chewies.  Silly me, I forgot that it was January, the number one month for making resolutions which often include eating healthier and losing weight. I was unknowingly sabotaging everyone’s efforts including my own, because it drove me crazy that I had all the ingredients for the Chewies in my house, yet, had never made them. I had to try them because, well, I just did (they were very good).

So this week, to make up for my transgression, I am posting a healthier recipe:

Spinach Salad with Maple-Dijon Vinaigrette

spinach-salad-recipe-0031

  • 1/4 maple syrup – Please use the real thing, thank you.
  • 3 tbsp minced shallots (about 1 medium)
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tbsp country-style Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup vertically sliced red onion (feel free to substitute a milder onion-these have been kind of strong for us, and we like onions)
  • 1/2 cup chopped Braeburn apple (can be substituted for what you have on hand, but VERY good with the Braeburn which is a little tart)
  • 4 bacon slices, cooked and crumbled (I know, not the healthiest choice, but please don’t leave this out. Still healthier that the Chewies of last week, I promise.)
  • 1 (10 ounce) package fresh spinach (cue angels singing for the super healthiness of Spinach)
  1. Combine first 8 ingredients in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. This is the dressing.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients in a salad bowl.
  3. Pour dressing on just before serving. Toss well.

Yield: 8 servings of healthy goodness.

I have probably made this salad at least 5 times since January 1st.  It is that good.

Click on Mr. Linky below to add the link to your recipe. Please link directly to your recipe, not just your home page.  And please remember to link back here in your post, so your readers can find new recipes to try, too.  Thank you very much!

2 thoughts on “Saturday Stirrings ~ Spinach Salad with Maple-Dijon Vinaigrette

  1. I have a spinach salad I love to make in the summer, but your dressing sounds even better. Would you be willing to link this up to my Five Point Friday? I think my weightloss friends would love to read it!! Definitely a low point meal! Thanks. Oh by the way…you need to have another coffee giveaway cause I ran out!!

Comments are closed.