Saturday Stirrings ~ Baked Potato Soup

I have no idea where I got this recipe. It’s just printed on a piece of paper in my collection of recipes. Just reading it is making me hungry, but I wouldn’t want to know the number of Weight Watchers points one serving of this delicious soup would be! Hmmm… now I’m curious. I’m going to have to go figure that one out.  Be right back…

Well, it’s not as bad as I thought. Assuming the recipe makes 8 servings, there are 7 points per serving. The problem is that you may not be able to stop at one serving.

Baked Potato Soup

  • 4 large potatoes, chopped, boiled, and mashed (you can leave them unpeeled, if you like)
  • 2/3 cup flour
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 6 cups skim milk
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 2 cups crisp-cooked, crumbled bacon
  • 1 cup fat-free sour cream
  • 5 ounces low-fat cheddar cheese, shredded

Melt butter in a large saucepan. Slowly blend in flour with a wire whisk. Gradually add milk to the mixture, whisking constantly. Whisk in salt and pepper, and simmer over low heat, stirring constantly.

When milk mixture is very hot, whisk in mashed potatoes. Add green onion, sour cream, and bacon, whisking well after each addition. Heat throughly. Add cheese a little at a time until all is melted in.

Garnish with cheese, bacon, and green onion.
Here is Mr. Linky to add your recipe to the mix. Sorry, there is no cash and prizes offered this week. Just the satisfaction of knowing that your beloved recipes are posted in Bloggsville for all the world to get to know and love!


You know the drill, please link directly to your recipe post and not just your home page. Please mention Saturday Stirrings and link back here so your readers can check out everyone else’s recipes, too. Feel free to leave a recipe in the comments if you don’t have a blog.

Thanks!

7 thoughts on “Saturday Stirrings ~ Baked Potato Soup

  1. That recipe sounds so good! You’re right, the points really aren’t that bad. I wonder how much of a difference it would make if you used turkey bacon instead?

  2. Little Sis

    I do believe I gave you this one. I only made it once. It has more than 3 ingredients so that breaks my cooking rule.

    *******************************
    Yes, you’re right. I knew it came from an excellent source!

  3. I got my package today! With my prize! I didn’t realize the coupon would be for a FREE box of Cheerios! I am easily delighted, so this made my day. The fruit basket is great. Thank you so much.
    I’ll try to get inspired this Sat to post a recipe.

Comments are closed.