Saturday Stirrings ~ Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars

I was going to post a recipe called faux-tatoes.  You may have heard of it. It’s the one where you cook cauliflower and mash it up like potatoes.  It is much lower in fat, calories, carbs, etc than real potatoes and I’ve been told you can’t tell the difference between the faux-tatoes and real mashed potatoes.

Well, I made faux-tatoes recently and I have to say that whoever said that no one can tell the difference either never tasted real mashed potatoes before or they are outright lying. Since it’s not very nice to call someone a liar, I will assume the person has been chronically potato deprived their whole life.  If you like cauliflower, you will like faux-tatoes because they TASTE LIKE CAULIFLOWER. Go figure.

So I totally switched gears and found the most decadent recipe I could to post today. 

You’re welcome.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars 

  • 1 package devil’s food cake mix
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine melted
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 (7 ounce) jar marshmallow cream

-Combine cake mix and butter, stirring well (mixture will be crumbly). Set aside 1 1/2 cups of the cake mix mixture. Press remaining mixture in bottom of a greased 13×9 in pan.

-Combine peanut butter and marshmallow cream in a bowl, stirring until blended. Dollop peanut butter mixture evenly over mixture in pan; spread evenly, using back of a spoon.  Sprinkle reserved 1 1/2 cups cake mix mixture over peanut butter mixture.

-Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Cool completely in pan on a wire rack. Cut into bars. Yield: 3 dozen.

If you’d like to post a recipe to share, click on Mr. Linky below and link directly to your recipe, not your home page. That will make it easier for folks to find your recipe. Please link back here in your post, so your readers can find even more new recipes to try.  If you don’t have a blog, feel free to post a recipe in the comments. 

Have fun!

 

4 thoughts on “Saturday Stirrings ~ Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars

  1. Deb and I love smashed cauliflower, or a mix of cauliflower and potatoes mashed, especially if you add garlic and butter. Of course, we like peanut butter and chocolate too.

  2. I’m so glad you posted about the cauliflower experiemnt. I’ve always heard about those too and was skeptical. I’ll pass on those but these peanut butter chocolate delights….welll I’d better work off the beignets first! LOL

  3. Carol, you are a hoot. I have not tried those South Beach taters, as I only like my cauliflower raw. And with a dip of some sort.
    Thanks for sharing the other recipe which has NO cauliflower in it.

Comments are closed.