Saturday Stirrings ~ Apple Crisp

I must be hung up on apples lately because here I am posting another recipe starring apples.  A few weeks ago, my dad called me to let me know that he wanted to stop by our house on his way home from a business trip a few hours south of us.  He lives a couple of hours north.

They weren’t going to stay long, but I wanted something to serve him and my step-mother while they were here. I found this quick and easy recipe for apple crisp and it was a hit!

Apple Crisp

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups butter
  • 2 quarts peeled, cored, and sliced apples

thanksgiving-08-001Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl, combine the flour, oatmeal, cinnamon, nutmeg, and brown sugar.

Cut butter into mixture until crumbly.

Take half of the mixture and pat it into the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish.

thanksgiving-08-0031Cover crumb mixture with apple slices, then sprinkle apple slices with remaining crumb mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes or until apples are tender.

thanksgiving-08-004As usual, I forgot to take an after picture, but trust me, it looked much better than this when it was all cooked and brown on top.  As you can see, I added a little extra butter to the top.

Please add the link to your recipe to Mr. Linky below.  Make sure you link directly to your recipe and not just your home page.  Please be sure to link back here so your readers can find other new recipes to try out!

Enjoy! And have a great weekend.

3 thoughts on “Saturday Stirrings ~ Apple Crisp

Comments are closed.