Saturday Stirrings ~ Graham Cracker Chewies

I have to confess something or I just won’t feel right about posting this recipe. I have never actually made Graham Cracker Chewies.

But I trust the friend who gave me the recipe. She is a tall, blonde, beautiful Danish woman. They named a whole category of pastry after the Danes, so she must know what she is talking about, right?

The recipe describes these as “a moist and chewy alternative to brownies”.  Sounds good to me.  Let’s give ’em a try!

Graham Cracker Chewies

Crust

  • 1 1/3 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

Topping

  • 1 1/2 cups (packed) brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/3 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs, beaten

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

2. Prepare the crust: Mix the graham cracker crumbs, sugar, butter, and flour in a mixing bowl until moist and crumbly.  Press the mixture firmly and evenly in the bottom of a 9-inch-square baking pan.  Bake until lightly browned, about 20 minutes.

3. Prepare the topping: Stir all the ingredients together until blended. Spread the topping over the baked crust and bake for 20 minutes. Let cool completely, then cut into 16 squares.  Makes 16 bars.

Here is Mr. Linky. Be sure and link directly to your recipe post and not just the main page of your blog. Please remember to link back here so your readers can see all the other new recipes. If you don’t have a blog, feel free to post a recipe in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Saturday Stirrings ~ Graham Cracker Chewies

  1. They sound absoultely delish! However, I just started eating healthier, so let’s see – graham crackers have flour in them and flour is healthy. Nuts and eggs are healthy and full of protein, so that means this is a healthy treat. Woo-to-the-hoo!

    ************************************
    Dena,
    You make a very good point! While nuts and eggs are healthy, I also had a spinach salad recipe up my sleeve I could have shared. Hmm… Since so many of us in Bloggsville have made resolutions to eat healthier in ’09, I will post the Spinach Salad recipe next week. It is healthy and yummy. (and I also got it from my Danish friend – Bonus!)
    Thanks, Carol

  2. If I weren’t on the ellipitcal every day right now, I’d give these a go. I’ll have to revisit them when I’m 50 lbs. lighter. They sound good.

    ********************************************
    Hey, Linda! The elliptical is my preferred method of torture right now, too! Next week, it’s Spinach Salad, I promise. I actually just made it and took pictures.
    ~Carol

  3. Hey, it’s Kim again ☺
    No, can’t really have graham crackers sent because they’d go through customs. HUGE hassle. Large envelopes come through okay (so far) but anything in a box, no matter the size, automatically goes through customs. That entails a trip into the provincial capital to the main post office, waiting in line, and most likely paying a ridiculous amount before they give it to you.
    So we’ll just have to wait until we go to the U.S. for the crackers. Which is sad since hubby’s favorite night time snack is milk and graham crackers. Oh well.

Comments are closed.