Saturday Stirrings ~ White Bean Soup

I am trying very hard to eat healthier. Technically I am a Weight Watchers member. I say “technically” because I haven’t been to a meeting in a while, but I intend to go back. Oh, yes I do.

This recipe actually comes from a Weight Watchers cookbook.  It is 4 points per serving. Just in case you were wondering.

White Bean Soup with Fresh Tomatoes and Basil

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 (19 ounce) can of white kidney beans (aka cannellini); rinsed and drained
  • 2 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 2 ripe plum tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • 1/4 cup basil leaves, shredded or 1 teaspoon dried
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  1. Heat a medium saucepan. Swirl in the oil, then add the garlic and saute for 30 seconds.  Add the beans and broth. Transfer 1 cup of the mixture to a blender or food processor and puree until smooth.
  2. Return the puree to the saucepan and bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, 4-5 minutes. Add the tomatoes and basil; simmer until heated through. Serve with the cheese.

Makes 4 – 1 cup servings.

Here’s Mr. Linky. Hopefully he will cooperate with us today. I heard he misbehaved himself while I was out of town last week. I had a stern talk with him and told him how disappointed I was. Hopefully, I will not have to take his iPod away again.

Please link directly to your recipe post and remember to link back here so everyone can find new recipes to try.

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Saturday Stirrings ~ White Bean Soup

Comments are closed.